Southern Biscuits with Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I used melted butter instead of vegetable oil. That was the only change I made. I dropped these into greased muffin tins instead of messing with cutting them so they wouldn't have a chance to turn out tough. These turned out so good--flaky and really just........YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Used all fresh ingredients…followed recipe exactly and they did not turn out well at all!! My son thought they were cookies that I'd made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
These were good, but I'd really hoped for a lighter, fluffier biscuit. They were a little on the dense side, but had good flavor. These were a nice addition to our chicken dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I have been making biscuits by this recipe since I was in elementary school and it works every time if you do it right! You need to use SELF-RISING, SOFT WHEAT flour, which is not as commonly available elsewhere as it is in the South. Good brands are White Lily or Hudson Cream -- NOT a hard wheat flour like Pillsbury,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I also agree with others, this reminds me of the biscuits my sister, grandmother and a great-grandmother used to make----but, the mayo is an addition and must make the difference as I could never get them to turn out like this recipe. Hoorah!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Thanks to this recipe I can make biscuits just like my grandmothers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
My family ate them only because they could slather them with gravy........sorry, these aren't so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RITA51

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
This recipe turned out better than I could have ever hoped for! Wonderful texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
The flavor wasn't bad. Maybe I rolled them too flat or cooked them to long, but they were flat and hard. I called them brick biscuits when I served them. I like the other mayonnaise buscuits on this site much better. These also take three times the time to prepare and also makes three times the mess. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
I submitted a similar recipi,(Mayonaise Biscuits, by Georgie Brent) but I think this one is a vast improvement! Mine were drop bicuits and this recipi is for rolled and cut,and they turn out more uniform and fluffier. Bravo Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States