Southern Baked Yellow Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
it was really tasty. i didn't like squash before this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millbrae, California, USA
Living In: Fernley, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
4 stars and very tasty as written. It is quite rich and doesn't need all the butter called for. I agree with other reviewers that the squash should be 'sweated' with a little of the butter and the onion and not boiled. It is also a very forgiving recipe. I have used a mixture of zucchini and yellow squash. You could also add add cubes of ham to make this a main dish, or bacon bits to make it a little fancier for a company meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ruth Chavez Ramos
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This recipe is very easy,quick and sooo delish! I made a double batch for tonight's dinner and we've already eaten almost half the pan lol Smells so good when it's baking,like thanksgiving I used some crumbled up potatoe chips for crispy topping??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Chavez Ramos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Really yummy. Barely boiled the squash and put a raw zucchini to add color! Added Parmesan cheese on top and grilled chicken after. I don't care about presentation so it looked interesting after being mixed up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Very good. I sweated the squash & onions for a few minutes in a pan instead of boiling. Loved the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Delicious! And finally a squash dish without cheese. I also halved the topping butter and next time I think I'll add in some fresh corn cut off the cob (after cooking the cobs with the squash).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Very Good...Added extra onion,salt & pepper, garlic powder,cheddar cheese. Would make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Bryant-Bain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Very yummy. I used seasoned bread crumbs and this was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by racharn711

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I used Saltine crackers in place of bread crumbs. Turned out great! We treated it like a main dish. It's so eggy that it is almost like a squash frittata.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cboz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I added a little (3 slices) of premade (real) bacon crumbles to the top for a little extra flavor and crunchiness. Very good and will make again. Goes good with slow cooker pork butt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillypoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States