Southern Baked Yellow Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This is a great recipe! Instead of dry bread crumbs I used progresso garlic & herb bread crumbs and it gave it a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherilyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I made this tonight and it was wonderful. I followed other reviewers comments and cut down on the butter. I used the 1/4 cup in squash but only drizzled small amount on top. I also added some parmisan cheese to top. Had no regular bread crumbs so used Panko instead. Also added about 1/2 tsp ground sage. Could use more salt, but I may have had a little more than 3 pounds squash. We loved it. Thanks for the recipe I saved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Excellent recipe; didn't need sugar or pepper. Cheese on top makes it extra good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Cooked the onion with the squash. I used Ritz crackers instead of bread crumbs. This is really rich so the second time I made it I halved the butter that's mixed into the topping. Everybody asks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I love this recipe! It's so simple and yet so very good! It's a new spin on an old favorite of mine and the best squash 'casserole' i've ever had! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This was great- I used a white onion I had already chopped that was in the fridge- very mild and I think that was awesome. I also didn't use additional butter on the topping- baked at 375 for 1/2 hour and then I turned off the oven and left it in there while I got the rest of the dinner ready. Easy, very delicious and a nice way to use the always abundant summer squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Carbondale, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Delicious! Easy! I used seasoned breadcrumbs and it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
We LOVED this. The egg and bread crumb mixture really makes this dish stand out. I added shredded mexican blend cheese on top with the bread crumbs. I covered the dish with foil and cooked 25 minutes at 400 degrees, then uncovered it for about 7 minutes. My picky boyfriend told me I can make this whenever I want. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States