Southern Baked Yellow Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Cooked the onion with the squash. I used Ritz crackers instead of bread crumbs. This is really rich so the second time I made it I halved the butter that's mixed into the topping. Everybody asks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Good. First squash casserole recipe I've seen without cheese. Next time will boil the squash for a shorter period of time and use a lot less butter for the topping. Baked this in convection oven at 325 for 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I added some Parmesan cheese on top also---yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dreammaker72000
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I also used seasoned breadcrumbs because that was all I had, and I also did 3 yellow squash and 3 zucchini. I really think this is such a great recipe that even having to make a couple of changes didn't change how great it turned out! Will deffinately be making this again! Now back to the yummy goodness!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreammaker72000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Very good. However, squash has so much water in it already, I would never dilute the flavor by boiling. Simply saute the onions in the butter, add the squash, put a lid on it until its own liquid is released and continue simmering until desired tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERPET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This is a great recipe! Instead of dry bread crumbs I used progresso garlic & herb bread crumbs and it gave it a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherilyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This was fantastic! I did tweak it just a tad for our own tastes. We grew our own squash and used that. I used plain whole wheat bread crumbs and added about 1 tbs. Italian seasoning to it. To the chopped onion I also added 4 small cloves of garlic that I pressed through a garlic press. Then, for the top coating of bread crumbs I substituted crushed up Ritz crackers in place of bread crumbs for a little different, crunchy flavor. This also makes great leftovers. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Very, VERY good. I made w/ a mix of 'calabaza' squash (like a pale zucchini) and frozen yellow squash. Would be good for a veggie potluck, swapping the butter for seasoned olive oil. Whole family liked it, even the veg-reluctant among us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Wow! This is amazing! I wanted to eat it while I was mixing it because it smelled so good...lol. I have made this twice in the last couple of days and it has been great both times. It reminds me of Thanksgiving...yum! The first time I followed recipe as is = great! The second time, I only boiled squash about 8 minutes (we thought it was a bit too mushy the first time), made this in a 13x9 glass dish and put extra (homemade) bread crumbs on top, cooked about 35 min = super great & quicker! This is a keeper for sure!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeeplette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Anna, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I never eat squash but I grew some in my garden so I gave this recipie a shot....WOW am I glad I did. This was so good I am on my 3rd batch this month. I did not have any bread crumbs so I browned some baguettes I had and chopped them in the food processer instead and added jalapenos also from the garden mmmmm mmmm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Baked Butternut Squash

Watch how to make this easy side dish of oven-baked butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States