Southern Baked Yellow Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Cooked the onion with the squash. I used Ritz crackers instead of bread crumbs. This is really rich so the second time I made it I halved the butter that's mixed into the topping. Everybody asks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Good. First squash casserole recipe I've seen without cheese. Next time will boil the squash for a shorter period of time and use a lot less butter for the topping. Baked this in convection oven at 325 for 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I added some Parmesan cheese on top also---yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Very good. However, squash has so much water in it already, I would never dilute the flavor by boiling. Simply saute the onions in the butter, add the squash, put a lid on it until its own liquid is released and continue simmering until desired tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERPET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dreammaker72000
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I also used seasoned breadcrumbs because that was all I had, and I also did 3 yellow squash and 3 zucchini. I really think this is such a great recipe that even having to make a couple of changes didn't change how great it turned out! Will deffinately be making this again! Now back to the yummy goodness!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreammaker72000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This is a great recipe! Instead of dry bread crumbs I used progresso garlic & herb bread crumbs and it gave it a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherilyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This was fantastic! I did tweak it just a tad for our own tastes. We grew our own squash and used that. I used plain whole wheat bread crumbs and added about 1 tbs. Italian seasoning to it. To the chopped onion I also added 4 small cloves of garlic that I pressed through a garlic press. Then, for the top coating of bread crumbs I substituted crushed up Ritz crackers in place of bread crumbs for a little different, crunchy flavor. This also makes great leftovers. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Very, VERY good. I made w/ a mix of 'calabaza' squash (like a pale zucchini) and frozen yellow squash. Would be good for a veggie potluck, swapping the butter for seasoned olive oil. Whole family liked it, even the veg-reluctant among us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Wow! This is amazing! I wanted to eat it while I was mixing it because it smelled so good...lol. I have made this twice in the last couple of days and it has been great both times. It reminds me of Thanksgiving...yum! The first time I followed recipe as is = great! The second time, I only boiled squash about 8 minutes (we thought it was a bit too mushy the first time), made this in a 13x9 glass dish and put extra (homemade) bread crumbs on top, cooked about 35 min = super great & quicker! This is a keeper for sure!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeeplette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Anna, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I never eat squash but I grew some in my garden so I gave this recipie a shot....WOW am I glad I did. This was so good I am on my 3rd batch this month. I did not have any bread crumbs so I browned some baguettes I had and chopped them in the food processer instead and added jalapenos also from the garden mmmmm mmmm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States