Southern Baked Yellow Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
If you're looking for a good squash casserole, you've found it! One word - DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This reminds me of a dish my Mom used to make. She toasted the saltines in butter and then topped the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
My husband absolutely LOVED this recipe. I have a "family recipe book" that I generally only write exceptional recipes in to refer back to for future meals. After hubby cleared his mouth of spoonfulls of this delish, he said, "Omg you HAVE to write this one in THE BOOK now!" The only thing that I done differently that the recipe doesn't call for is: I used red onion and Italian bread crumbs (since that's all I had on hand). One one....SCRUMPTIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Delicious! Question- Why do all the squash recipes require the squash to be boiled before baking? We make scalloped potatoes without cooking beforehand. Just sayen???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Excellent recipe. This is the only squash casserole recipe I've found that doesn't have cheese and cream of whatever soup. You can really taste the squash. I followed the recipe exactly, and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This was delicious.Lower in claories than most because of no cheese. Could even be lower if you used EggBeater. I used panko bread crumbs, could have added fresh basil, I did not add sugar, not sure why you would, I agree with others, could use less butter, but it is very tasty with the amt used. I'll be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Oakton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Wow! Loved this! I used Italian bread crumbs, but followed exactly other than that. Even my VERY picky soldier gobbled this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannamarie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I really like this, and so did most of my family :) I agree with an earlier review that it's nice to find a bake/casserole without cheese, seeing as we have an allergy in our family. Thanks for a simple and yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Nice homey flavor and a good way to sneak veggies and protein into my kids. I boiled the squash for about 12 minutes and they were quite mushy, next time I will reduce boil time. I also added the onion in with the squash for the last 5 minutes of boil to tenderize and mellow the onion flavor for my picky eater. I substituted 1/2 sleeve of crushed ritz mixed with butter in place of the extra breadcrumb. This would make a nice Thanksgiving dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Seemed like it was missing something ... a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States