Southern Baked Yellow Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I really like this, and so did most of my family :) I agree with an earlier review that it's nice to find a bake/casserole without cheese, seeing as we have an allergy in our family. Thanks for a simple and yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Nice homey flavor and a good way to sneak veggies and protein into my kids. I boiled the squash for about 12 minutes and they were quite mushy, next time I will reduce boil time. I also added the onion in with the squash for the last 5 minutes of boil to tenderize and mellow the onion flavor for my picky eater. I substituted 1/2 sleeve of crushed ritz mixed with butter in place of the extra breadcrumb. This would make a nice Thanksgiving dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Seemed like it was missing something ... a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I used panko crumbs and zucchini (I ran out of squash in my garden and had a lot of zucchini). I also boiled the squash/zucchini with some crushed garlic for flavor and mixed the top panko crumbs with some Parmesan. The result was a very light and yummy dish. Very nice for a summer dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jenniferspringall
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I altered the recipe by adding zuccini and grated carrots OH and Cheese and crackers instead of bread crumbs. So I can't really rate this recipe though I used all the measurements and other ingredients as called for. I love it! Very good! Will make again for sure. ONly next time I will follow this recipe exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniferspringall
Home Town: Piedmont, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Halved this one for just the two of us and it was FANTASTIC! As suggested by others I cut down on the butter on top. I used fresh candy apple sweet onions and fresh yellow squash from one of our local farmer's markets. Not having time, room, or energy for a garden I find the farmer's markets a huge plus to our meals. Only thing I may do different next time is skip the sugar. I just didn't see the use. (Maybe it's because the onions we use are sweet enough.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Delicious! Easy to make. Tastes like Boston Market squash casserole! Will make this for Thanksgiving! I make with zucchini or yellow squash, or combo of both... I am actually going to try this with eggplant next time! Our new favorite side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Made exactly according to the recipe and it was amazing! (And I don't even like squash, it was a gift!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This was a great altrenative to just coonking them in a pan on the stove. Taste was great and it was so nice to have a change!! Definitley going to make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This is a great recipe! I did not have an onion, so I pressed two garlic wedges and hoped for the best. It was great! Also- did not have breadcrumbs so I had to use crushed triscuits (for the topping) and Pepperidge Farm stuffing mix (herb?) from a bag that I crushed up. YUMMO!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer8

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Baked Butternut Squash

Watch how to make this easy side dish of oven-baked butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States