Southern Baked Yellow Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Easy and very versatile love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
My boyfriend has always talked about baked squash so I decided to make it for him using this recipe. He (and I) really liked it! I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Hendrickson
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
very good. I wanted one without cream of something soup. This was easy and good. I topped mine with pepperidge farm herb stuffing crumbs moistened with some butter and water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Livengood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Very good. However, squash has so much water in it already, I would never dilute the flavor by boiling. Simply saute the onions in the butter, add the squash, put a lid on it until its own liquid is released and continue simmering until desired tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERPET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I really wanted to like this because I have a ton of summer squash in the garden but it was not good...very bland and no one in my family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queenie605

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Made this dish for the first time today and took it to lunch with my family, and everyone loved it! There were no leftovers. Very simple and easy to make. I used Italian flavored bread crumbs and was generous with them on top. I did not cut back on the butter and it still turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Great non-cheese casserole! I sliced instead of chunk-ed. I don't ever boil the squash for a casserole. I like for it to still maintain some of its firmness and this cuts out extra steps. That's the only thing that I did differently... Like someone posted earlier, you wouldn't pre-boil potatoes for a potato casserole, so I never understood the step of pre-boiling squash. Also, summer squashes can be and are eaten raw in salads and with dips, so I recommend skipping boiling. The recipe will still turn out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAndre77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Not bad, but quite bland and boring. I'd rather eat just boiled (or steamed) squash with butter than bother with this recipe. I'll stick with the fabulous Yellow Squash Casserole recipe when I want something along this line.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angeltown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I echo what other reviewers have said. I was skeptical about this recipe, thinking it might be bland. I tried it anyway b/c my husband doesn't like cheese and I was craving squash casserole. It was so good! Some recipes have a wow factor and this, IMO, isn't a wow kinda dish...I mean, it's squash. The simplicity of taste and ease of making is what earned it a 5 stars from me. Also, I think this would taste great as a main dish, if lump crab meat or oysters where added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aboucher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Apple-Stuffed Squash

Learn how to make a spicy apple-stuffed squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States