Southern Baked Yellow Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Delicious! I usually make my squash casserole with a cheese (like asiago), but decided to try this one instead. I was not disappointed - will make again. I just realized on re-reading this recipe that I did not add the 1/2 cup breadcrumbs to the squash - I only sprinkled italian breadcrumbs and butter over the top. I didn't miss the other breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
A wonderful side dish but a seasoning boost is needed to get it there rather than relying solely on salt and pepper. Personal taste preferences and spiciness of other dishes influence how to season it. Many reviewers used seasoned bread crumbs which is a good idea. Next time, might try a little nutritional yeast for a subtle nutty cheesy flavor. We cut the butter in half and used panko bread crumbs which produced a topping with a crunchy texture. Really liked the firm texture of this dish as some squash casseroles can be watery but not this one. Found the oven temp and baking time to be spot on. Will make again. Melissa, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I love this recipe, I also didn't remain consistent with original recipe but very close. Microwaving squash for 2 min intervals with onion, garlic powder (lazy day) salt and pepper till soft, added marg this time then fresh processed bread crumbs. Mixed in egg, topped with more crumbs and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I love steamed/sauteed squash, so as this is so rich, I will propably only make it as a treat. So good though! Added in some spices (garlic, thyme), used Splenda, and reduced the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Awesome recipe! I had a friend come back the next day for leftovers! Will try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I added sauteed garlic, used Italian style Panko and seasoned the squash with Italian seasoning. This added a lot of flavor to an otherwise rather bland recipe. It was a hit at a family gathering! will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This is so good and so easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Easy and very versatile love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
My boyfriend has always talked about baked squash so I decided to make it for him using this recipe. He (and I) really liked it! I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Hendrickson
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
very good. I wanted one without cream of something soup. This was easy and good. I topped mine with pepperidge farm herb stuffing crumbs moistened with some butter and water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Livengood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States