Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
I made these with Thanksgiving dinner because my husband loves his fathers soul food but especially his collard greens. I thought I would try to give him a little touch of his father who was not able to be with us for Thanksgiving. He commented that these were better than his fathers. Kootos to SouthernGirl3! The only thing I did different was put the liquid in a crock pot on low the night before with the ham hock. It made the meat so tender and you really get a lot of extra flavoring. Other than that, my recommendation is to make extra because they were so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
294 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This is an excellent recipe I have been doing it for years. The only thing I do differently is add about 1 TBSP honey, or syrup or even brown sugar. This gets rid of all bitterness from the greens. Everyone I have cooked them for loves them even the ones who say they don't eat collards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I'm not a Southerner but I love me some greens. This is a great recipe for collards. none of the recipes I've seen on this site stress the neeed to wash the greens throughly. It takes a while and is the worst part of making them but very necessary.I also add somecoarsely chopped onion and red pepper flakes. Serve with hot sauce and cornbread, mmmmmmmmmmmmmm gooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Perfect. To reduce the smell of the collards while they cook, add one pecan (shelled). Seriously, it helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I love greens and was dying to make my own. This recipe was great. The only thing I did differently was boiling the ham hocks for a while before adding the greens. I was very satisfied with the results and will use this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I have been trying to duplicate the collard greens I had at a friend's house a long time ago without much success. This recipe did it! I added a heaping tablespoon of sugar to the recipe to provide a hint of sweetness and found the flavor I had been searching for. The vinegar cuts the bitterness and really cuts the odor while cooking. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
These were great! I used smoked turky necks, since I don't eat pork. I also used 1/2 broth and 1/2 water. They were flavored well. I fixed some cornbread and ate them with it....SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I've always had the worst time making greens. However, this one came out amazin'! I cooked the ham hocks in the liquid for half an hour prior to adding the greens. I also added 1 tablespoon of sugar and half an onion(chopped). Came out quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
THESE ARE THE BEST collard greens I have ever had! I am not a true southern since my mom is from New York and my dad from Minnesota, so after marrying a Georgia boy and living in South Carolina, I desperatley wanted to make collard greens comparable with his mothers. Hubby said these tasted different but were equally good! And surprisingly, I loved them as well. I did alter the recipe slightly though. I halved it because it was only for the four servings and then used frozen collard greens already chopped (only b/c the store was out of fresh though!) I used Goya ham flavoring in place of the ham hocks. Then I added some finely chopped onion and cayenne or red pepper to it as well. SPICY! I will never cook collard greens any other way again. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I made these for New Years and used hog jowl instead of ham hocks and they turned out wonderful! I did cook them on low for about five hours. They just kept getting better. I am from Chicago and my Southern friends said they were really good and couldn't believe a Yankee could have made them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States