Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Excellent! My father passed away unexpectantly and he made the best greens ever. Unfortunately, I never got the recipe from him. I made these at a recent family get together and the pot was EMPTY by the time everyone left. Thanks so much for this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sigmasuperstar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Simple. Easy. Delicious. First time making collard greens, an it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This is the second time I have cooked collard greens. I guess you have to develop a taste for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This is the perfect recipe for collard greens. I grew up in the South and could eat greens every day. This is five star on its own, but after I made it the first time, I added red pepper flakes and a bit more vinegar to mine. I like spicy greens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilmarnock, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Awesome recipe! I tripled the ingredients to make a larger batch. Cooked all ingredients about 1/2 hour before adding collards. Added 2tbs brown sugar to decrease bitterness. I also cooked the greens about 2 1/2 hours to get them a little more tender. Definetly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okeechobee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Absolutely wonderful. Adding a tablespoon of vinegar really made a difference. My family enjoyed this VERY MUCH!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Breinigsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This came out great! I have never cooked collard greens before but the chicken broth and the flavor of the ham was delicious. I let it simmer for 1 hour and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
3 1/2* These greens turned out AMAZING because: I doubled the recipe, added a packet of dry onion soup, a tsp of cayanne, and chopped salt pork. I also used the bagged COUNTRY MIX of greens which is turnip, mustard and collard. Once served, I also like to add a tbs of vinegar to my portion. I love the ZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Heaven!! I'm in heaven!! The BEST I have ever eaten! Followed recipe to the "T". Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Amazing. This was my first time tasting or making collard greens, so I can't attest to the authenticity. The flavor was soooo good I had 3 helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISTYZ23

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States