Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I tried this and I'm not sure it came out the way it was supposed to, but I'm not a fan. I think ham hock is a little too heavy for the taste I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklinville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Millersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Oh baby this is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was AWESOME. I've always loved greens and wanted my kids to like them so I could make them more. I tried this recipe and it was a hit. Only thing was that I didn't have fresh collards so I used the frozen ones. I also used chicken bouillon instead of broth and as other have suggested, I added a tbls of brown sugar to take out the bitterness. The sugar did not make it sweet at all. I also cooked the ham hocks a bit before adding the greens. A new staple to our menu THANKS SO MUCH Southerngirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was my first attempt at cooking collard greens and this recipe was a huge success! The only thing I did differently was use regular chicken broth cause I didn't have condensed chicken broth. I also don't think one bunch of collards equals 8 servings...cause it barely feed 4 people ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I use smoked ham hocks & a pinch of red pepper flakes - oh yeah - these are some darn good collards!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I've always avoided collard greens, thinking I wouldn't like them. Made this for our New Year's dinner and was pleasantly surprised that I actually ENJOYED them! I used one really big ham hock and cooked it in the broth in a crockpot for a few hours - then transferred to pot where I added/cooked the rest. Really glad I tried this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Great recipe! I added 1 tsp lemon juice and it was prefect. And I slow cooked them for several hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Delicious recipe for collards that I have to have on New Year's Day with ham and black eyed peas. I followed the recipe exactly but decreased the water because I didn't want that much liquid. I cooked the ham hocks for an hour in the broth prior to adding the collards. I added a few dashes of red pepper flakes and a few tablespoons of sugar at the end to cut the bitterness. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I be lovin' me some greens! I had to learn how to cook collards cuz they're NOT like others that cook up quickly. I also put in some chopped onion and Tabasco sauce. (Diced up smoked sausage rocks as well). They'll cook up quickly in a pressure cooker in 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Simple and delicious! It was my first time making collard greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States