Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was a great recipe. I've made it several times now and always get compliments.I like to add red pepper flakes to spice it up when making it for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I'm a Chinese/Hawaiian girl married to an African American and I never tasted greens till I met him. I've been looking for a recipe to surprise him with because he's always saying how he misses greens. So I made this recipe and only changed a few things based on others reviews. I use 1 lb of greens (not 1 bunch), a pince of red pepper flakes, 1 lg onion, 2 cloves of garlic, 6 slices of bacon (fried and cut up), and 3 tbsp of Liquid Smoke. I also put the ham hock overnight in the slow cooker to make it tender and then used the liquid as the "water" for the recipe. My husband couldn't believe this was my first try and loved it. He said it was right up there with his mom's greens (and she's a good ol' girl from Alabama). I was thrilled and will continue to use this often. It was soooo easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa4Dennis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I love this recipe. It's very simple, and the collard greens turned out better than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vwcj78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I really enjoyed this. Not sure what to do about the Ham hocks, though. I found them indedible. Are they just for flavoring the greens or does one eat them? The only reason I'm going 4 stars instead of 5 is my family just didn't appreciate it as I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BriFur

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Well, to begin with I am a real southern gal and this recipe was right up my alley. I didn't make any changes and I did as someone else had done and cooked the ham hocks in the crockpot the night before with all the liquids. These were excellent. Definitly a keeper for this old southern gal and her hillbilly husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hawthorne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I'm a southern African American & I love collard greens. I made these last night and I have to say that these were absolutely the best I've ever had!!!! The only thing in this recipe that was new to me was the chicken broth and I think that's what made the difference!!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Fantastic! My father said these tasted as good as his childhood memories. Per other recommendations, I did add a tablespoon of sugar. Otherwise, these were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Absolutely DELICIOUS! These are the best southern style collards, I have ever put in my mouth! I did 2 bunches of collards so I made a couple of changes: First of all, I only used one ham hock. I used 3 cans of chicken broth. I decided not to double the broth. No need to. I just used a little extra water. I used 2 tablespoons of vinegar and plenty of salt and pepper. I cooked these for two hours. In my opinion, one hour just isn't enough. Plus, the longer you cook them, the better they are!!!! :-) I used two bunches, because collards tend to cook way down. I highly recommend this recipe! You have never had real southern style collards, until you've had THESE! Beth Wilson Raleigh, NC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lamborghini Gal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This was really good. I followed the recipe exactly. I didn't get very much meat off the ham hocks, so next time I think I will try using smoked neck bones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammonton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I added onion and garlic cloves...my family ate it all and I had to make more after the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ Speaks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States