Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Excellent! I used salt pork fat back instead of ham hocks, and used chicken seasoning to make my own chiken broth. Followed the directions exactly as stated for everything else. They turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
5 Stars and Two Thumbs up. I did not have ham hocks and substitute a few slices of turkey bacon and a few hunks of the end of an ham I prepared for dinner along with the greens. I also did not have condensed chicken broth on hand and substituted homemade broth. I was skeptical of using as much water as the recipe called for figuring the greens would release water too; however, I did not change it. About an hour later, I feel in love. I was so proud considering I had never made greens outside of heating up a can, LOL. Great recipe. May not taste like the ones your (grand)mother cooked all day but for about 75 minutes of your time you will have some darn good greens!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faux Chef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Wow, this was delicious. I added one chopped onion, 1 bay leaf, and boiled the ham hocks in the broth for 30 min before adding the greens (took bay leaf out at this point). Omitted the salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
My collards were so flavorful and tender. I cooked them a little longer and added a bit more vinegar. Yumm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Southerngirl SAVED THE DAY! I cooked mine in a crock pot...and I used smoked pork necks instead of hamhocks...the flavor was delicious! And they were so tender. Best greens I ever made :-) thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Randle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
These are the best collards I have ever made! Wonderfully simple but oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I have been cooking greens forever... thii my basic recipe but I also have found to add a bit of "kick" simply add 1/4 cup jalapeno pepper juice (not the peppers they'll make it too spicy). I also add a small can of crushed pineapple while cooking and my kids eat them up! The added sweetness counteracts thenatural after bite of the collards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I really liked this. However, no one else would try it. I did use cider vinegar because I didn't have any white, but I don't think it made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Very good! We did simmer the hocks for about an hour before we put the collards in. I really liked this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
A friend grows collards here in Alaska, and gave me a couple of plants. I made this recipe today, and it is heaven!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States