Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This recipe is awesome! Followed instructions and it came out perfect! My family loved them as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
First time ever eating collared green. It was pretty good! I used 16 oz diced ham steak, 2cups of turkey broth I got from thanksgiving dinner which kept in freezer, sliced onion and collared green. Not even salt. Why? I simply forgot to. :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tomorrrr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I had a friend who made the best collards. They were never bitter. I tried this and added brown sugar but it was still terribly bitter. What's the secret?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
When you get collards in your CSA and have Easter hambone in the freezer, this recipe was perfect. In the arena of collard greens, which we eat only when necessary, DH said it was very good and my 2 y.o. ate some. I followed tips to add 1T of brown sugar; hope it helped. My taste buds are on vacation, so I can't judge at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This recipe is great! I have never made collard greens before and wanted to try, i just made it and it taste awesome!The only thing i changed is i added sugar, bacon grease and chopped jalapeno peppers. My fiancee is going to be shocked to see his city girl made these great collard greens! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
made it vegetarian with hash browns instead of the meat and it was fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
The ingredients are right on, but not the cooking directions. First, wash your ham hocks off and put them in a pot, cover with water, bring to a boil and cook over medium heat for about fifteen minutes and pour the water off. Then, start a fresh pot with water to cover and cook until almost tender, but not quite done. It could take as long as three hours. It depends on your cookware, your fire, etc.. You can boil them on high heat, but watch them and add water if necessary. Then, when they're almost tender, but not too tender, add your remaining ingredients and bring to a boil. Simmer about an hour, or until the greens are the way you like them. Some people like them chewy, so take a few out after about 45 minutes and taste them for tenderness.. These steps are necessary to keep from having your greens too salty. Also, I add a shake or two of red pepper flakes and a few cloves of chopped garlic. Serve with vinegar and hot sauce, like Louisiana Hot Sauce. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chitowncook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Best collards ever! My husband is from Alabama and I am from Illinois. I made these for him the first year we were married and he has raved about them for 7 years. He even said they were better than his memaws and that is saying a lot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Simple easy and good. I used smoked ham shanks. Other than that I kept the recipe the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States