Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
When you get collards in your CSA and have Easter hambone in the freezer, this recipe was perfect. In the arena of collard greens, which we eat only when necessary, DH said it was very good and my 2 y.o. ate some. I followed tips to add 1T of brown sugar; hope it helped. My taste buds are on vacation, so I can't judge at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This recipe is great! I have never made collard greens before and wanted to try, i just made it and it taste awesome!The only thing i changed is i added sugar, bacon grease and chopped jalapeno peppers. My fiancee is going to be shocked to see his city girl made these great collard greens! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
made it vegetarian with hash browns instead of the meat and it was fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
The ingredients are right on, but not the cooking directions. First, wash your ham hocks off and put them in a pot, cover with water, bring to a boil and cook over medium heat for about fifteen minutes and pour the water off. Then, start a fresh pot with water to cover and cook until almost tender, but not quite done. It could take as long as three hours. It depends on your cookware, your fire, etc.. You can boil them on high heat, but watch them and add water if necessary. Then, when they're almost tender, but not too tender, add your remaining ingredients and bring to a boil. Simmer about an hour, or until the greens are the way you like them. Some people like them chewy, so take a few out after about 45 minutes and taste them for tenderness.. These steps are necessary to keep from having your greens too salty. Also, I add a shake or two of red pepper flakes and a few cloves of chopped garlic. Serve with vinegar and hot sauce, like Louisiana Hot Sauce. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chitowncook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Best collards ever! My husband is from Alabama and I am from Illinois. I made these for him the first year we were married and he has raved about them for 7 years. He even said they were better than his memaws and that is saying a lot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Simple easy and good. I used smoked ham shanks. Other than that I kept the recipe the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I guess I owe this recipe a quick review. I've made it an embarrassing amount of times in the 8 months since I moved to the south. :-) All I can say is, who knew greens were so darn good?! This recipe is perfect and I wouldn't change a thing -- except maybe to double it. Thanks for helping make me a real southern cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marjack68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
love'em....i like to add a little more spice to mine but other than that, perfect. i usually use pancetta in mine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This recipe was ok, still not exactly what I was looking for! I was looking for southern greens you would find at a bbq restaurant or deep in the south at grandma's. This wasn't quite it, though it was not "bad."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I tried this recipe with the left over hamhock I had and it turned out AWESOME! My husband kept telling me how good it was! I put mine in a pressure cooker for about 4 minutes then added the hamhock I had simmered earlier. Let it simmer together for about 30 mins. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States