Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Amazing. This was my first time tasting or making collard greens, so I can't attest to the authenticity. The flavor was soooo good I had 3 helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISTYZ23

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
These are GREAT! I added twice the greens and didn't double the ham hocks and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Me and my husband almost ate all of these before they were even done. These are so delicious and that is an understatement. I am drooling, I can't wait to eat them with my dinner, already planning on when I am going to cook them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
GREAT. Made "VEGETARIAN" w/ no meat, more onions, little garlic, and some red bell peppers, and 1/2 tsp of liquid smoke. Meat eaters Loved it and veggies couldn't believe I didn't use meat. (I used veggie broth)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I tried this recipe and it was great! I am not a Southerner, however I am dating a true Georgia boy and he loves his greens. This recipe was really easy to follow, especially for someone that has never even bought collard greens before. The only thing I would add is that the greens need to be watch throughly before cooking. Also, I used turkey necks instead of the ham hocks (it was his preference). I simmered the necks on chicken broth and with half of a chopped onion, salt/pepper to taste for several hours and then added the greens and simmered for several more hours. I did added a tbsp of brown sugar and vinegar. He loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
My husband loves collards and I've made them a number of times. After using this recipe, he said, "you finally got it" these are super! I did ad both chicken broth and some pork to flavor. Even my little boys decided that they finally like collards!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
These were delicious. Just like grandma used to make. They were out of smoke ham hocks at my grocery store, so I substituted smoked turkey legs. Mmm, mmm, good! I served these with pot roast, black eyed peas spooned over cornbread, and a bottle of "pepper sauce" to pass around. Grandma would be proud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Wonderful...that all I can say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Amazing!! Used 2 bags of collards & kept all other ingredients the same. SO good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clawson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Fantastic!!!! I have never made Collard Greens before but now this is a staple. I did add a tablespoon of honey to take away any bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States