Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I used mixed turnip, collar and mustard, and did add the brown sugar so I did twek it but these were devoured at christmas! Making them for new years day! thank you , killer recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Based on this recipe, my husband now eats collard greens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Excellent! Not bitter at all! I made this recipe at the last minute, so I did not have the ham hocks so I used two slices of bacon. I also threw in a tablespoon of honey, red pepper flakes, onion bits and a couple sprigs of thyme. VERY good. I am no longer afraid of this vegetable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I ABSOLUTELY love this recipe. I've been looking for a recipe to raise my family on, and I hit the jackpot with this one. Since I have big eaters in my family, I have to double the recipe. That's where my slow cooker comes in handy. I make my own chicken broth, so that helps too. I always slow cook my ham hocks in my broth and vinegar. That seems to produce the best flavor. Then I strain the broth before using it for the greens. Whooo! My husband says "my" greens are the best ever. Thanks, from one Southern girl to another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Hunter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Had this for '10 Thanksgiving and it turned out wonderful. Followed recipe exactly but started the boil on the ham hocks as I was chopping the greens. Will definitely keep making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I was looking for another way to make collard greens but I wouldn't even chance this recipe. It takes more than 1hr 15 min to cook the ham hock. I'll stick with what I know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
i've never made these before. they were soooooo good!!!!! thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Appomattox, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
First time ever making collard greens . They turned out perfect but i am just not a collard green type of person . I wish it would have let me know if I was suppose to drain the juice or keep them in it when all is done .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Quick & Easy to put together, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idalee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
THIS RECIPE IS AWESOME DURING THE HOLIDAYS. IT'S REALLY A GREAT RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States