Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
The chicken broth made a huge difference and when I cooked them a little too long waiting for the other dishes to get ready, I just added another can of chicken broth and took them out of the pot. Simmering hot in chicken broth in the bowl was perfect texture for serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gg810

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake View, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
These were delicious, tender and easy to make! I did follow the suggestion of some of the reviewers and added 1 TBSP brown sugar to cut bitterness. I also stirred in a few dashes of cayenne just because I like it :) This is an awesome recipe! I didn't even use salt because the salt from the broth and the hocks was plenty enough to season them just perfectly. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Caylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatsworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Love this recipe and it's simplicity! I do not use ham hocks, I used chopped ham from my bone-in ham and let this simmer in my crock pot for hours. Other than that substitution and cooking in a crock pot I followed the recipe exactly. Thank you for a true recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonysgdbg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I used mixed turnip, collar and mustard, and did add the brown sugar so I did twek it but these were devoured at christmas! Making them for new years day! thank you , killer recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Based on this recipe, my husband now eats collard greens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Excellent! Not bitter at all! I made this recipe at the last minute, so I did not have the ham hocks so I used two slices of bacon. I also threw in a tablespoon of honey, red pepper flakes, onion bits and a couple sprigs of thyme. VERY good. I am no longer afraid of this vegetable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I ABSOLUTELY love this recipe. I've been looking for a recipe to raise my family on, and I hit the jackpot with this one. Since I have big eaters in my family, I have to double the recipe. That's where my slow cooker comes in handy. I make my own chicken broth, so that helps too. I always slow cook my ham hocks in my broth and vinegar. That seems to produce the best flavor. Then I strain the broth before using it for the greens. Whooo! My husband says "my" greens are the best ever. Thanks, from one Southern girl to another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Hunter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Had this for '10 Thanksgiving and it turned out wonderful. Followed recipe exactly but started the boil on the ham hocks as I was chopping the greens. Will definitely keep making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I was looking for another way to make collard greens but I wouldn't even chance this recipe. It takes more than 1hr 15 min to cook the ham hock. I'll stick with what I know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
i've never made these before. they were soooooo good!!!!! thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Appomattox, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States