Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This was a great treat! I could not find smoked ham hocks, so we broiled ours and added a little bacon to get the smoky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Great way to make a lower-carb veggie side dish. They were tasty but more soupy than I expected. Next time I'll cut back on the liquid. My BF loved them and he "doesn't like collard greens." :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larra Van Dyke

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This southern girl LOVES some collard greens! I have never used vinegar or chicken broth before so I tried it and LOVE THEM EVEN MORE! Serve with some beans and cornbread. YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
These were yummy. Very flavorful. I did add a little hot sauce just for an extra kick but these were finger licking good. This was my first time using pork instead of Turkey meat and this was a good change. Keeps you from using a lot of seasonings which is a plus. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Cooking early for dinner, and I am not sure that I can wait to eat them. I've gotten other recipes for collards on this site and this is by far the best! So very good. Followed the basic recipe to the letter, minus the hocks (used smoked turkey wings). Oh, I did simmer the turkey wings for about an hour in the broth and water before adding the greens because that what mom does). Also added about tsp of dark brown sugar and dash of red pepper flakes. I used kosher salt and black pepper in the grinder to taste. Plan on looking at the rest of your recipes Southerngirl3. Muy bueno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PhillyGirl1908

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Sensational! I have been trying to make collard greens for years, to no avail, this recipe changed that. I prefer a softer texture, so I cooked them for five hours instead of one. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Truly (as a girl that learned this from a southern cooking Grandmomma) is THE southern collard greens. Must add cornbread to complete. :) Oh, tip to cut bitter is add a pinch of baking soda (works for sweet tea too to cut bitterness).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
love, love, love it!!!!! My bf said he never liked collard greens but after this he's been asking me when am I going to make it again!! The only thing I've added was a sprinkle of crushed red pepper while it's simmering. This is a true the south collards recipe.. thanks for sharing southerngirl3 :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paxton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Griffin, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Awesome. I did add a few more items to this recipe to make it like down home greens. I added some chopped onions, and sliced hot sausage links. I also added about 1/8 cup of chopped pecans, to reduce the strong smell that the green make when you cook them. It works perfect every time. My fiance and daughter both ate these , even though neither one of them like greens, so they say. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States