Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
These were really good. My husband who is from the south and also very picky really enjoyed them. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by new2cooking
Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
So.. I'm a vegetarian, so I needed to adapt this recipe :) - used frozen collards in 3 cups of water with a vegetable boullion cube, added 1/2 onion chopped, 1 tsp minced garlic, 1 tbsp cider vinegar, 1 tbsp honey, salt and pepper. High heat till boiling, then simmered for 20 minutes. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sameera Azad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Delicious and tender- not bitter at all. I used beef boullion instead of chicken as I do with canned greens beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
And my mom said you had to cook these things for hours?!?!? NOT!!! This was an awesome recipe! The only thing I did different...I added some crushed red pepper flakes...Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I added red pepper flakes, diced onions and a tsp of brown sugar for added flavor and it turned out amazing!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elsie Giron

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This was a great treat! I could not find smoked ham hocks, so we broiled ours and added a little bacon to get the smoky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Great way to make a lower-carb veggie side dish. They were tasty but more soupy than I expected. Next time I'll cut back on the liquid. My BF loved them and he "doesn't like collard greens." :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larra Van Dyke

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This southern girl LOVES some collard greens! I have never used vinegar or chicken broth before so I tried it and LOVE THEM EVEN MORE! Serve with some beans and cornbread. YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States