Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
My very favourite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Fantastic! I cut my collard greens right down to the stem (very small pieces) this addded a sweet flavour). I also used a tablespoon of Red Wine Vinegar (not a lot). Thank you so much. Our neighbours couldn't get enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I have never had collard greens before. These were wonderful. I used a ham bone instead of ham hocks. And then I cooked them for about 1 1/2 half hours. The flavor was very rich and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shoreview, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I tried this and I'm not sure it came out the way it was supposed to, but I'm not a fan. I think ham hock is a little too heavy for the taste I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklinville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Millersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Oh baby this is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was AWESOME. I've always loved greens and wanted my kids to like them so I could make them more. I tried this recipe and it was a hit. Only thing was that I didn't have fresh collards so I used the frozen ones. I also used chicken bouillon instead of broth and as other have suggested, I added a tbls of brown sugar to take out the bitterness. The sugar did not make it sweet at all. I also cooked the ham hocks a bit before adding the greens. A new staple to our menu THANKS SO MUCH Southerngirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was my first attempt at cooking collard greens and this recipe was a huge success! The only thing I did differently was use regular chicken broth cause I didn't have condensed chicken broth. I also don't think one bunch of collards equals 8 servings...cause it barely feed 4 people ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I use smoked ham hocks & a pinch of red pepper flakes - oh yeah - these are some darn good collards!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I've always avoided collard greens, thinking I wouldn't like them. Made this for our New Year's dinner and was pleasantly surprised that I actually ENJOYED them! I used one really big ham hock and cooked it in the broth in a crockpot for a few hours - then transferred to pot where I added/cooked the rest. Really glad I tried this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States