Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Fantastic! My father said these tasted as good as his childhood memories. Per other recommendations, I did add a tablespoon of sugar. Otherwise, these were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Absolutely DELICIOUS! These are the best southern style collards, I have ever put in my mouth! I did 2 bunches of collards so I made a couple of changes: First of all, I only used one ham hock. I used 3 cans of chicken broth. I decided not to double the broth. No need to. I just used a little extra water. I used 2 tablespoons of vinegar and plenty of salt and pepper. I cooked these for two hours. In my opinion, one hour just isn't enough. Plus, the longer you cook them, the better they are!!!! :-) I used two bunches, because collards tend to cook way down. I highly recommend this recipe! You have never had real southern style collards, until you've had THESE! Beth Wilson Raleigh, NC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lamborghini Gal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This was really good. I followed the recipe exactly. I didn't get very much meat off the ham hocks, so next time I think I will try using smoked neck bones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammonton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I added onion and garlic cloves...my family ate it all and I had to make more after the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ Speaks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
First time making Collard Greens and it was a big hit. Easy recipe and very tasty. I will be making this again...often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALeach
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I love collards. I cook the hamhocks for about an hour or so depending on the size of the hamhocks before adding the collards. I like my hamhocks very tender and falling off the bone. I also add 2 to 4 of a tablespoons of sugar to take away the bitter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I made this recipe for New Years Day. I turned out great. I followed it as stated but added 1 to 2 TBSP of sugar with all the other ingredients. Everyone enjoyed it a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Hickcox Cyr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Springs, Maryland, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
We didn't like these. It could be we just don't like collard greens in general because the recipe sounds like it should be great. You really can't go wrong with smoked hamhocks! To me, it tasted like cooked spinach... I ate a bit, but will stick to cabbage next new years'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Doyle Lundy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
So good. Very comforting. I omitted the water and the vinegar. I sauteed half an onion, 3 cloves of minced garlic in about 2 tbs. of extra virgin Olive Oil, added 3 strips of bacon, salt, pepper and red pepper flakes. Cooked on low for about 2 hours. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Wow - I used a ham bone left over from Thanksgiving with a lot of meat on it. It was the most popular dish at the table. Two bunches makes alot!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States