Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I have been cooking greens forever... thii my basic recipe but I also have found to add a bit of "kick" simply add 1/4 cup jalapeno pepper juice (not the peppers they'll make it too spicy). I also add a small can of crushed pineapple while cooking and my kids eat them up! The added sweetness counteracts thenatural after bite of the collards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I really liked this. However, no one else would try it. I did use cider vinegar because I didn't have any white, but I don't think it made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Very good! We did simmer the hocks for about an hour before we put the collards in. I really liked this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
A friend grows collards here in Alaska, and gave me a couple of plants. I made this recipe today, and it is heaven!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I must have done this wrong..way to salty. I used smoked turkey instead of ham hocks. Next time I will not add any salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
So easy and so good. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mleinnyc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rutherford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I used soime bacon as well and added some leon juice becuase I like my greens a bit tangy and they were sooooo wonderful I love this recipe thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanellKendall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Texas, USA
Living In: Ft Campbell, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I used several diced strips of smoked thick-sliced bacon since I couldn't bring myself to fork over six dollars for a four-pack of "smoked ham hocks", two of which I didn't need. But now that I know my boyfriend loves them, I won't be afraid of the hocks next time. Also, I used two bunches of collards- they cooked down so much in an hour, I only ended up with three servings, so I'm glad I did! Also, I added a T. of sugar, following other cooks' advice, and used 2 cans of chicken broth and omitted the water, since it was cheaper than buying the little condensed cans of Campbells broth. Very new taste for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Oh my goodness...I love greens...I love a couple other recipes...THIS one is da bomb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mominator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States