Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
DELICIOUS!! That sums it up in one word! My husband of 34 years if from the north and would NEVER touch greens from the south. I convinced him to take one bite, and he was hooked. I wanted to take a picture of him sitting at the table with collard greens on his plate. I did make a couple of changes or rather additions. I added some sugar, some Balsamic vinegar, crushed red pepper flakes, a pinch of baking soda and just a splash of lemon juice. This recipe is just delicious! A true southern dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Yum.. I added a little sugar to take away the bitterness of the greens; also a few dashes of hot sauce is how we like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Yum! Everyone (including individuals who don't usually like collard greens) loved them. Thanks so much! I added a pinch of sugar and a dash of hot sauce at the end as suggested by fellow ARers in the exchange (to help with bitterness).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Great recipe. I did alter it a bit after reading some of the other ratings. I added 1 tbsp of honey to the pot, and I had already used my ham hocks for my black eyed peas. So, I used hog jowl instead. It turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Grimes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Easy recipe! Followed the recipe to the tee and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Very good! My husband said he doesn't like collards but we didn't have any leftovers! The only change I made was to the ham. I coudn't find ham hocks so I bought I slice of bone-in ham. I chopped half and threw the half with the bone in whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNB826

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
just what I was looking for. The chicken broth really makes the difference. These were delicious and will be perfect for our New Years Day traditions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I made this recipe last year for what has now become a yearly tradition. Our group of friends have requested that I make these again this year for our New Years get together. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
THANK YOU SOUTHERN GIRL3 I learned how to cook watching my mom VERY closely, and I've never liked to ask my sister for recipes, as I like to remember Moms way or experiment on my own. Moms been resting for awile, but you just helped me recreate the exact way her collards tasted. I made Lyn B's high temp round and your collards for Christmas and got rave reviews from our guest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Great Easy Recipe for collard greens. Flavorful and Fast but you may want to extend the cooking time a little longer for the greens to be tender ( 1.5 to 2 hours in total simmer time). I did add some cut okra ( I am from the South and this is a requirement) and I used leftover/fatty pieces of ham from my Christmas ham instead of buying ham hocks. I also added a little sugar ( 1 TBSP) as suggested by some others. The recipe worked well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States