Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Very good. I let it cook longer than a hour. I like it tender. We ate it with our new Years hoppin john!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by willnikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
good recipe although mine come out too salty for my taste...that was probably my wrong doing. They do sell collard greens already cleaned and cut in big bags at Wal-mart. I discovered this after I made them. I will definitely give this another try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Excellent. Lots of flavor in the pot liquor. I made sure not to overcook them so they could rest in the liquor and absorb as much flavor as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Coxwell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Yemassee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I've never mad collard greens before but wanted to make the traditional new years day meal. They were terrific. My friend who is not a collard eater had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy Clement

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
DELICIOUS!! That sums it up in one word! My husband of 34 years if from the north and would NEVER touch greens from the south. I convinced him to take one bite, and he was hooked. I wanted to take a picture of him sitting at the table with collard greens on his plate. I did make a couple of changes or rather additions. I added some sugar, some Balsamic vinegar, crushed red pepper flakes, a pinch of baking soda and just a splash of lemon juice. This recipe is just delicious! A true southern dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Yum.. I added a little sugar to take away the bitterness of the greens; also a few dashes of hot sauce is how we like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Yum! Everyone (including individuals who don't usually like collard greens) loved them. Thanks so much! I added a pinch of sugar and a dash of hot sauce at the end as suggested by fellow ARers in the exchange (to help with bitterness).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Great recipe. I did alter it a bit after reading some of the other ratings. I added 1 tbsp of honey to the pot, and I had already used my ham hocks for my black eyed peas. So, I used hog jowl instead. It turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Grimes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Easy recipe! Followed the recipe to the tee and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Very good! My husband said he doesn't like collards but we didn't have any leftovers! The only change I made was to the ham. I coudn't find ham hocks so I bought I slice of bone-in ham. I chopped half and threw the half with the bone in whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNB826

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States