South Texas Tartar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
There are a couple of very important items missing in this recipe. One is anchovie paste. I don't know the amount, sorry. The other is that the real original used a tiny pepper called a chile petin instead of jalepenos or serranos. The last comment is that the real product takes on a light beige color rather than being so white, so I feel the amount of Ritz crackers may be off slightly. The consistency is very thick and 'spreadable' rather than easily dippable. Once you try it, you will remember the taste and texture forever and will, as I have, try to reproduce it, unsuccesfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Swierc Poth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
WOW...this is REALLY good! I wanted something more than just mayo mixed with relish and this fit the bill perfectly. I can't believe how good this is, seriously! This will be my new 'go-to' tartar sauce! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
AWESOME, love this on salmon patties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Very very good! A little more complex than some recipes, so not as easy to whip up as some recipes. Big deal? Sort of, after a long day of fishing. Nevertheless, I think it is a worthwhile endeavor for the taste, which is unique (in a good way), and sure to get + comments at your next fish fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I haven't tried this yet but I've been looking for this recipe for FOREVER! Every time I go to King's Inn, I'd just sit there and eat this stuff on crackers... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Very Very good, hubby oved it. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Original review 2/19/06: This is it! This is the tartar sauce I have been looking for FOREVER! Ever since I was pregnant with my 1st child, and we went to Landry Seafood in Galveston, TX...I ate and ate this stuff! Thank you, thank you! I finally had all the ingredients...the green olives are the secret ingredient. Thanks so much for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-17 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Tartar Sauce

Delicious homemade sauce with just four ingredients.

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Dijon Pan Sauce

See how to make a delicious mustard pan sauce for roasted pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States