South Texas Style Tartar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chadli
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Just good stuff! It was super easy, I tossed everything in the food processor, I added a bit more parsley than the recipe called for, just because I love fresh parsley, and it was WONDERFUL. So far the best recipe I've found on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chadli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
It seems I can never just make a recipe, even one as good as this I used 1 1/2 cups light Hellman's mayonnaise, added 2 TB or so of capers.This depends on how much you like capers and how much you're making. I made four big servings, Then added lemon juice, one tsp per serving. Used a little less pickle and added Tabasco hot sauce to taste. My tartar sauce turned a pretty pastel pink.The onions are important. Don't be stingy with then, they add a little crunch. Do refrigerate it for up to a day before using to let the flavors marry. Cajun Belle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This is the first time I made this and scaled it down to 4 servings. I used calamata olives instead of pimento stuffed green olives because that is what I had on hand. This is the best tartar sauce I have ever tasted!! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
I loathe sweet tartar sauce. Loathe it. This is perfect. This replaces my old favorite tartar sauce, which I used to think was perfect. I was wrong. This is it. And, it gets better after a day or two. Yow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
I made this once before and then again about five minutes ago. Instead of using dill pickles, I used about 3 TBS of dill relish (with a little juice). I used 9 or 10 olives, and more like 1-1/4 cups of mayo. I'm not a big parsley fan so I omitted it. I chopped the onion, relish, and olives together as instructed and added maybe a teaspoon of lemon juice... It's so good, especially after an hour or so. I love tartar sauce, and this is the best I've had yet! Thanks for sharing, Jackie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This was really great. I made my own mayonnaise in a food processor and then added the other ingredients and blended. Looked just like the photo. Added a little lemon juice at the end. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I made this for my family last night with fried cod and it was delicious. Simple, fast, and full of flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Very nice recipe. I used it with catfish cakes and it was a perfect match. I would highly recommend everyone to try this one. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
My husband loved this. He said it was so much better than the store bought bottled ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Taste just like the tartar sauce from Catfish Charlies in Corpus Christi. It's best if made ahead to let the flavors blend. Much better the next day. I don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Cheesy Broccoli Puffs with Sriracha Sauce

Bring your holiday party to life with delicious bite-size appetizers.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States