South Texas Carne Guisada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
This recipe is just fantastic!! I changed a few things, like I used fresh tomatoes but added a can of rotel plus a can of green chiles. I used 1.5 tsp of cumin and regular oregano ( because I had no Mexican oregano). Additions to the finished product: guacamole, cheese and sour cream.. Not to mention some delicious tortillas!! Everyone ate everything!!! Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This is an awesome base recipe, with many options of substituting or tweaking to your liking. I used very lean, fresh venison instead of sirloin, olive oil, green peppers, and a spice mix by Bolner's (Fiesta brand) called Extra Fancy Carne Guisada Seasoning. I didn't use fresh garlic because I didn't have any. I cooked it all in a cast iron Dutch oven on the stove top, but simmered for about 2 1/2 hours to make the venison more tender. The finished dish was awesome on top of Mexican rice, with homemade flour tortillas, and frijoles a la charra on the side. A Classic Coke in a glass bottle from Mexico made this meal almost emotional for me! It took me back to my abuelitas kitchen table back in the '80's. :) Delicious recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CucaCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
My BF was brining over homemade flour tortillas so I wanted to make something that would go great with them! And this recipe was pretty darn good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liliana Magdaleno

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I am also from West Texas. Born and raised. I now live in The Rio Grande Valley. 15 minutes from the border of Mexico. Let me just say, unless everything in Odessa has changed, West Texas doesn't know Mexican food. This recipe is great and resembles a lot of restaurants in the Valley. The food here is amazing. Never heard of half the things you can eat here. Try the recipe, you'll love it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bret Layne Nicks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA
Living In: Edinburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Use rotel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Mendoza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Excellent! I've lived in South Texas my whole life and eaten a lot of carne guisada, but never could replicate it in my kitchen. This is the real deal. Thank you, Rhonda35!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
UPDATE: I followed the recipe exactly a second time because I always try recipe's twice to make sure I didn't mess it up. It was much better. The ONLY thing I did differently was I used tenderized round steak and a small can of green chili's. My husband said 4 stars...not 5 though. Follow the recipe EXACTLY...because I don't think I did...and it was not good at all. Not sure where my mistake was...but my husband told me to stick to my other carne guisada recipe. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I am a vegetarian,so I used the Gardien Beef-less tips and it turned out excellent. I did add jalapeno,as I add it to everything,served with guacamole,rice and refried black beans. Que delicioso!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Absolutely the best carne guisada I have ever eaten. I live in London and have to make all my Mexican food at home. I'm so glad to have found this recipe from back home here in this forum! Mmmmmm delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Ringo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This is really great base to start with or leave it as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States