South Of The Sea Chicken and Bananas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2000
A nice combination of different flavors... worth the time and effort for something out of the ordinary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
This recipe was soooo good. The bananas were so incredibly sweet, I was asked to make them on future occasions as a side dish! Who ever would have guessed of putting bananas with chicken and serving them for dinner? Anyway, the combination was wonderful. Thanks for the recipe. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
This recipe was great. It may very well be my new favorite food. I modified it a little - instead of sweetened condensed milk, I mixed half sweetened condensed milk and half cream of coconut (like the kind you use to make pina colada). It turned out fabulous. Served this with sweet german wine. Yummy. I LOVE the bananas. I think that the baked bananas would make a great desert with ice cream!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Beer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liberal, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lake Waukomis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
Interesting tastes serving chicken with bananas! It tasted great! The only drawbacks were that it messed up a lot of dishes and portions were off. Next time I make it, I'll use only 3 lbs of chicken, and I'll put the ingredients straight into the baking dishes when preparing them. My family loved the taste. I might use crushed macadamia nuts instead of corn flakes next time. Overall, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
This was a great recipe, I changed it a bit, by placing 1 cup of shredded coconut in the food processor and chopping to a fine grind and adding that to the breading crumbs. I also deep fried the bananas, but the chicken was much better and moist when baked. I was really surprised that everyone loved them, especially the banana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
This recipe was AWESOME!!!!! I think the recipe needed 6 chicken breasts, not 6lbs-that doesn't even make sense as there wouldn't even be enough dip for everything. Anyway I used 4 extrememly thick boneless chicken breasts and the cooking time was perfect. I also put the bananas in a cookie sheet (not a 9x13 pan) and they came out perfect as well. If your bananas are mushy, they were too ripe-use extremely green bananas. Definitely one of the tastiest dishes I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRABLUE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
Excellent recipe. My husband & I had this with the Harvest rice dish recipe. It was an absolutely fabulous meal. I did crush the corn flakes so it would adhere a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
We really enjoyed this unusual dish. The only problem was that the measurements were really off. For 2 people I changed the measurements to 2 tsp lemon juice, 1/8 can sweetened condensed milk, 1 1/4 tbsp of coconut, 1/8 tsp cardamom, 1 banana, 1/2 cup crushed cornflakes, 2 chicken breasts, and 2 1/2 tbsp melted butter. Tasted a lot like eating a dessert for dinner so it may not be for everyone but we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I had to try this recipe, as it sounded so....well...wierd! I am glad I did. It was very different and exotic tasting. I crushed the cornflakes but will crush them even finer next time as they were a little too pronounced after baking, and I will do less bananas as the recipe didn't need that much to get the full banana taste. I also substituted coconut milk instead of the regular milk. I served mine with sliced kiwi and pineapple tidbits, and the Asian Coconut Rice from this site (which works out perfectly to use up the remainder of the can of coconut milk). Thank you for this outrageously different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBLUELINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Budget Friendly Chicken Oreganato

See a super-simple way to prepare flavorful lemony chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States