South Of The Sea Chicken and Bananas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I have read all the reviews for this recipe, so here's a quick summary, with a few of my own notes: Reduce amt of chicken (submitter must have made a typo), use 1/2 cream of coconut and 1/2 coconut milk in lieu of condensed milk, add coconut flakes to the cornflake mixture (may also use panko bread crumbs). Substitute pineapple juice instead of lemon juice (it's the perfect compliment) and add the juice directly to melted butter. Last but not least, I personally recommend using plantains in lieu of bananas - you're guaranteed not to have mushy results as some reviewers have reported. Frozen plantains are available in your grocer's freezer and may be added to the chicken 1/2 through the allotted baking time. If you think it sounds like an interesting flavor combination -- I believe with the above tweaks it's truly 5-stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
Interesting tastes serving chicken with bananas! It tasted great! The only drawbacks were that it messed up a lot of dishes and portions were off. Next time I make it, I'll use only 3 lbs of chicken, and I'll put the ingredients straight into the baking dishes when preparing them. My family loved the taste. I might use crushed macadamia nuts instead of corn flakes next time. Overall, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
This recipe was great. It may very well be my new favorite food. I modified it a little - instead of sweetened condensed milk, I mixed half sweetened condensed milk and half cream of coconut (like the kind you use to make pina colada). It turned out fabulous. Served this with sweet german wine. Yummy. I LOVE the bananas. I think that the baked bananas would make a great desert with ice cream!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Beer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liberal, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lake Waukomis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
Made this dish for my family tonight. Messy to make and was just not my thing I guess. I was confused with the bananas and the cereal. Was wondering if the amounts of the chicken was right...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
This recipe was soooo good. The bananas were so incredibly sweet, I was asked to make them on future occasions as a side dish! Who ever would have guessed of putting bananas with chicken and serving them for dinner? Anyway, the combination was wonderful. Thanks for the recipe. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
This dish was a bit of a disappointment. The chicken turned out to be fairly bland. The bananas tasted good, but were unappealing because they got pretty black on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
Very good. Bananas had strange texture, but it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
The chicken tasted really originally and I liked the unique blend of flavors in it!! But I got disappointed by the bananas - they got really soft and buttery and I have to admit I prefer regular baked bananas. But maybe my fault was putting both chicken and bananas in the same dish from the very start, instead of following the recipe step by step? Anyway, this is a nice combination!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Zamorska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2000
A nice combination of different flavors... worth the time and effort for something out of the ordinary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I had to try this recipe, as it sounded so....well...wierd! I am glad I did. It was very different and exotic tasting. I crushed the cornflakes but will crush them even finer next time as they were a little too pronounced after baking, and I will do less bananas as the recipe didn't need that much to get the full banana taste. I also substituted coconut milk instead of the regular milk. I served mine with sliced kiwi and pineapple tidbits, and the Asian Coconut Rice from this site (which works out perfectly to use up the remainder of the can of coconut milk). Thank you for this outrageously different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBLUELINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Budget Friendly Chicken Oreganato

See a super-simple way to prepare flavorful lemony chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States