South Of The Sea Chicken and Bananas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2000
A nice combination of different flavors... worth the time and effort for something out of the ordinary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
This dish was a bit of a disappointment. The chicken turned out to be fairly bland. The bananas tasted good, but were unappealing because they got pretty black on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
This recipe was soooo good. The bananas were so incredibly sweet, I was asked to make them on future occasions as a side dish! Who ever would have guessed of putting bananas with chicken and serving them for dinner? Anyway, the combination was wonderful. Thanks for the recipe. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
The chicken tasted really originally and I liked the unique blend of flavors in it!! But I got disappointed by the bananas - they got really soft and buttery and I have to admit I prefer regular baked bananas. But maybe my fault was putting both chicken and bananas in the same dish from the very start, instead of following the recipe step by step? Anyway, this is a nice combination!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Zamorska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
This recipe was great. It may very well be my new favorite food. I modified it a little - instead of sweetened condensed milk, I mixed half sweetened condensed milk and half cream of coconut (like the kind you use to make pina colada). It turned out fabulous. Served this with sweet german wine. Yummy. I LOVE the bananas. I think that the baked bananas would make a great desert with ice cream!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Beer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liberal, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lake Waukomis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
Interesting tastes serving chicken with bananas! It tasted great! The only drawbacks were that it messed up a lot of dishes and portions were off. Next time I make it, I'll use only 3 lbs of chicken, and I'll put the ingredients straight into the baking dishes when preparing them. My family loved the taste. I might use crushed macadamia nuts instead of corn flakes next time. Overall, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
Made this dish for my family tonight. Messy to make and was just not my thing I guess. I was confused with the bananas and the cereal. Was wondering if the amounts of the chicken was right...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
Very good. Bananas had strange texture, but it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
Actually kind of a 3.5... I expected too much when I made this recipe but in the end, I didn't find it to be all that. I mean it was okay.. Worth trying, I may make it again. I just found that the bananas didn't go all that well with the lemon kind of thing. Its kind of sweet dullish. I rushed it a bit so it wasn't all that attractive but I should have put more effort into it. It would taste better with effort for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
Boring and bland. One of the worst things I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Budget Friendly Chicken Oreganato

See a super-simple way to prepare flavorful lemony chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States