South Of The Sea Chicken and Bananas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I have read all the reviews for this recipe, so here's a quick summary, with a few of my own notes: Reduce amt of chicken (submitter must have made a typo), use 1/2 cream of coconut and 1/2 coconut milk in lieu of condensed milk, add coconut flakes to the cornflake mixture (may also use panko bread crumbs). Substitute pineapple juice instead of lemon juice (it's the perfect compliment) and add the juice directly to melted butter. Last but not least, I personally recommend using plantains in lieu of bananas - you're guaranteed not to have mushy results as some reviewers have reported. Frozen plantains are available in your grocer's freezer and may be added to the chicken 1/2 through the allotted baking time. If you think it sounds like an interesting flavor combination -- I believe with the above tweaks it's truly 5-stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I had to try this recipe, as it sounded so....well...wierd! I am glad I did. It was very different and exotic tasting. I crushed the cornflakes but will crush them even finer next time as they were a little too pronounced after baking, and I will do less bananas as the recipe didn't need that much to get the full banana taste. I also substituted coconut milk instead of the regular milk. I served mine with sliced kiwi and pineapple tidbits, and the Asian Coconut Rice from this site (which works out perfectly to use up the remainder of the can of coconut milk). Thank you for this outrageously different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBLUELINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I did not like this at all. My husband found the first bite to be a little strange, but stated that the flavor grew on him and got better the more he ate. He said the chicken was really moist. I think the sweetness just did me in. Sorry, not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
We really enjoyed this unusual dish. The only problem was that the measurements were really off. For 2 people I changed the measurements to 2 tsp lemon juice, 1/8 can sweetened condensed milk, 1 1/4 tbsp of coconut, 1/8 tsp cardamom, 1 banana, 1/2 cup crushed cornflakes, 2 chicken breasts, and 2 1/2 tbsp melted butter. Tasted a lot like eating a dessert for dinner so it may not be for everyone but we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
Excellent recipe. My husband & I had this with the Harvest rice dish recipe. It was an absolutely fabulous meal. I did crush the corn flakes so it would adhere a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
This dish was ok. I made it for my older sister and farther, doing it by the recipe except I didn't put the seasoning in it because it costs way too much at the store... but anyway. I think it would have been better with not having the banana's at all. I made them right and all but I dont really feel the are good with this mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
This recipe was AWESOME!!!!! I think the recipe needed 6 chicken breasts, not 6lbs-that doesn't even make sense as there wouldn't even be enough dip for everything. Anyway I used 4 extrememly thick boneless chicken breasts and the cooking time was perfect. I also put the bananas in a cookie sheet (not a 9x13 pan) and they came out perfect as well. If your bananas are mushy, they were too ripe-use extremely green bananas. Definitely one of the tastiest dishes I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRABLUE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
This was a great recipe, I changed it a bit, by placing 1 cup of shredded coconut in the food processor and chopping to a fine grind and adding that to the breading crumbs. I also deep fried the bananas, but the chicken was much better and moist when baked. I was really surprised that everyone loved them, especially the banana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
Boring and bland. One of the worst things I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States