South of the Border Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Good, but I think it need more spice. I added only a pinch of salt because I did not want my dish too salty. I didn't have Rotel (which is what diced tomatoes and green chilies is) so I used one can of fire-roasted diced tomatoes and one can of green chilies. I did drain off a little of the juice from the tomatoes, though, so it wouldn't be too runny. I think this would make a great chunky salsa, if I added yellow onion, gresh garlic and more cilantro and cumin to the tomatoes and chilies, ran it through the blender, then fold in one can each of the corn and the black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I love this salad and could eat it every day of the week. I love the spice, the cilantro and the cold, crunchy corn and beans. The only substitution I make is using adobo powder instead of the salt (I learned it from a friend). This is an excellent recipe-Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy JF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monson, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I really liked this salad and so did my husband (who rarely likes anything that doesn't have meat in it- unless its drowning in cheese). I added a little more salt and some chili powder and it turned out great. Definately needs to sit for at least 2 hours so that the flavors can mingle together. Definately a great dish for a potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
nothing better than ok...and it makes more like 12-16 servings, which means it's an awful lot of "just ok" salad to have around... update: i ended up throwing away the leftovers. (something i almost never do!) unlike most bean and corn salads, which only get better over time, this salad became inedible after sitting overnight. the onion flavor became overly pronounced, to the point that green onion was the only distinctive taste. i'm taking away a star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Delicious! Made this for my daughter's graduation party. This was defintely a hit, and it was very attractive served in a clear glass bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Not bad, but not really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Pretty good but not spicy enough. I added some cayenne pepper and garlic to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Nice change from usual potato, macaroni, or pasta salad! I also add diced celery as other reviewer stated. And is definately better when sits overnight. Great recipe for potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karb Kutie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I make this salad on a regular basis, especially in the winter when other salad fixings are out of season. I often add celery to add extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This recipe is a huge hit! I'm always asked to make it for get-togethers, and often asked for the recipe. Although I am a big fan of olive oil, in this case I think using vegetable oil works out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States