South-of-the-Border Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
My kids flipped out over this recipe!! I did double it and add cans of diced tomatoes with green chilies instead of fresh toms and a can of corn. Used Pepper Jack and sharp cheddar and it was so yummy!! My boy woke up in the morning and asked if he could have left overs for breakfast!!! Now that's a win win!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Photo by Chris Call
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
In going to add a can of corn to this next time ..otherwise it's perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Call

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I have made this multiple times, it's quick and easy and delicious. Very creamy and rich. I only cook it for 1-1.5 hrs, it doesn't need 2 hours for the pasta to become tender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I used 12 oz. sharp cheddar cheese, and threw in a can of rotal (undrained) in place of the tomatoes and green chilis at the beginning of the cooking process. I also used whole wheat pasta. I omitted the green onions as DH does not care for them, but I could see them working well in this. It came out just stellar, nice and creamy and thick, and the flavor was great. I think what I liked most about this recipe is that unlike baked mac and cheese, I didn't have to put a whole stick of butter, or any butter in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I ended up using Colby cheese and Cheddar. It was sooooo yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Ryan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This is delicious and I just love that it makes a creamy mac and cheese without all of the processed like in the boxes. I also doubled the cheddar as per others recommendations and added a can of diced tomatoes (juice and all) b/c I was too lazy to cut a fresh one. Next time I will cook up some ground beef in taco seasoning and add that too. LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This was my first time making mac n' cheese in the crockpot, and I loved it. The cooking time was perfect in my older crockpot as it doesn't get as hot as the newer models. I had 6 young adults, all newly married over for dinner and they pretty much finished the bowl! I only had white American cheese, so I cubed that up. We liked the mild spiciness to this recipe and it will be one that I make again. Thanks henrythe8thiam for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Great dish for large gatherings, I tripled the recipe and it filled up the slow cooker nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
This is the first time I've ever made mac and cheese in a crock-pot and with summer temperatures soaring outside, this was a great way to cook it and not heat the house up with the oven. I did double the recipe, other than that followed exactly. The boys and their girlfriends loved it, it's not the same as oven mac and cheese but it was nice and creamy and we all enjoyed it. I stirred it about three times in the two hours and it was perfectly done in the time specified. I really liked it with just the green chilies and may try that next time omitting the tomatoes and onions at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I cook for a tiny 91 year old woman who loves spicy dishes, as well as mac and cheese. I read the first review and doubled the sharp cheese (extra sharp) and, rather than American cheese, I added a can of cheddar cheese soup. Because my client likes so much spice, I added a can (undrained to compensate for the extra cheese) of diced tomatoes with jalapenos, threw in a few shakes of red pepper flakes, and the result was Wonderful. This is a great recipe!...creamy, thick, a little kick (more if you choose), and, hopefully, will get discovered. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Mac and Cheese

Great taste and classic goodness prepared in a slow cooker.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States