South of The Border Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I couldn't find my Chicken Tortilla Soup recipe so I used this one but I had to do some changes on it. I fried onions, 2 cloves garlic, 1 stalk celery thinly sliced, bell pepper all at once in olive oil instead. Instead of frozen mixed vegetables I used 1 can of Bush pinto bean drained, 1 cup of frozen corn, and 1 can of Diced tomatoes and Green Chile. I also used 1 Tablespoon NM Red Chile Powder instead of chili powder. I also used 3 1/2 cups of my homemade chicken broth instead of store bought. My family like hot spicy and even tripling the chile wasn't enough for some them but they add more to their taste in their own bowls. They also thought the soup taste came out great. Our 2 year old grandson keep asking for More Pease! He likes the grated cheese and tortilla strips on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlt11_NMC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I made this exactly as the recipe called for and we loved it. I did add a little celantro at the end for color as well as taste. Making this for the second time tonight.MMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kosciusko, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Blairsville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I really liked this soup but I made some changes. Being from TX I thought the mixed vegetables sounded kind of funny so I added a can of kidney beans and a can of corn kernels instead. I also added quite a bit more chili pepper and and a little cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This was pretty good! I added a little velveeta towards the end and it added to the flavor. Very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was an easy soup, however I ended up adding much more seasoning to it, it was a bit bland for our taste as is. Try adding, cumin, corriander and a bit more chili powder, once we did this and topped it with tortilla chips it was super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
A simple soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Fantastic! But a little thick, I think more broth should be added unless you want more of a "stew". It's all a matter of personal choice. I used tortilla chips instead of making them myself for convenience. I think next time I will kick up the spices to give it more of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
This is so easy and quick to make and delicious. I too added ramen noodles and 3 cups vegetables with a little extra chicken broth. Didn't have any tortillas so we use Tostitos tortilla chips either on top or on the side and that tasted great. Next time I will try the tortillas as the recipe suggested. Thanks for sharing, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This was excellent & easy. I just added frozen peppers & onions (more then suggested)w/ salt & Pepper. Yummy. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
very good.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States