South Dakota Sunflower Seed Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
These were pretty good, I made all the changes (sugars etc...) that everyone mentioned and I added dried cranberries. I'd make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
uh....it dunno tasted really bitter. I dont know what it is the sunflowers? it was very crispy and nutty. I was really worried when the batter seemed to crumble apart but at the same time it was SO oily from the butter. Probably wont make again- too fattening while not tasting that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by antaresoul

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I have done a similar recipe in the past, and would suggest adding honey or golden syrup for moistness and 1 egg to bind it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pamflynow
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
The taste was good but the texture was too dry in the batter form to create little balls. I ended up adding 1/2 c. milk so there would be some binding. I also took the advice and did 1/2 the amount of baking soda and used 1/2brown and 1/2white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamflynow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
My friends ask me for the recipe when I serve this! Works wonderfully with silicone baking sheet. Great way to use up leftover sunflower seeds and coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
I stuck strictly to the recipe, and these were just ok for me. The consistency of the cookie was great, a nice crunch while still a little soft. Definitely will take the advice of others regarding the baking soda and substituting some brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMANDERS13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dexter, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This was a very different type of cookie. Nutty and savory-sweet. I really liked it. I made a fwe changes due to the other comments. I used half of the baking soda, added a half cup more of coconut and sunflower seeds, 1/4 tsp of salt and also an egg (which hlped bind the batter better)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBSEPKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I agree that the baking soda was a little too much. They had a great flavor otherwise, but they were pretty crumbly. I used half white sugar and half brown sugar. I would probably make these again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacrich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
I found the baking soda a bit overmuch for me personally, imho. If I did the recipe again I would use a half or quarter teaspoon baking soda instead, with the sugar changed to brown sugar to balance the alkali/acid ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
These cookies were very easy to make. They have a wonderful taste to them. I made these for a baking club, and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States