South Dakota Sunflower Seed Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
These were pretty good, I made all the changes (sugars etc...) that everyone mentioned and I added dried cranberries. I'd make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
uh....it dunno tasted really bitter. I dont know what it is the sunflowers? it was very crispy and nutty. I was really worried when the batter seemed to crumble apart but at the same time it was SO oily from the butter. Probably wont make again- too fattening while not tasting that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by antaresoul

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I have done a similar recipe in the past, and would suggest adding honey or golden syrup for moistness and 1 egg to bind it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pamflynow
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
The taste was good but the texture was too dry in the batter form to create little balls. I ended up adding 1/2 c. milk so there would be some binding. I also took the advice and did 1/2 the amount of baking soda and used 1/2brown and 1/2white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamflynow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
My friends ask me for the recipe when I serve this! Works wonderfully with silicone baking sheet. Great way to use up leftover sunflower seeds and coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
I stuck strictly to the recipe, and these were just ok for me. The consistency of the cookie was great, a nice crunch while still a little soft. Definitely will take the advice of others regarding the baking soda and substituting some brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMANDERS13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dexter, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This was a very different type of cookie. Nutty and savory-sweet. I really liked it. I made a fwe changes due to the other comments. I used half of the baking soda, added a half cup more of coconut and sunflower seeds, 1/4 tsp of salt and also an egg (which hlped bind the batter better)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBSEPKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I agree that the baking soda was a little too much. They had a great flavor otherwise, but they were pretty crumbly. I used half white sugar and half brown sugar. I would probably make these again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacrich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
I found the baking soda a bit overmuch for me personally, imho. If I did the recipe again I would use a half or quarter teaspoon baking soda instead, with the sugar changed to brown sugar to balance the alkali/acid ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
These cookies were very easy to make. They have a wonderful taste to them. I made these for a baking club, and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States