South Carolina Sweet Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I was born and raised in SC, and if I made tea like this my mother would have tanned my hide. There are a few things wrong with this - One not people use an electric coffee make for tea only....if you use your coffee make for coffee too, it is going to leave a funny taste in your tea. Also You never specified what kind of tea to buy...that is important, I'vew had people come up and ask me all the time. I make teas the following way: 7 regular sized Orange Pekoe Tea Bags (orange peko is the type of tea leaf, its generally what is used in Lipton and your other brands...but double check. It doesn't taste like oranges either. 1 1/2 Cups of Sugar for a 1 gallon pitcher. Put tea bags in small pot and put on stove with about 3 cups of water...give or take. You want the tea bags covered, so the bigger the pot, the more water you have to use. Bring tea to a boil and let it roll for 2-3 minutes. Turn tea off. let tea sit in pot for 10-15 minutes. While this is happeneing, fill you pitcher up half way with WARM water. Hot is good too, but it takes longer to cool off. Put sugar in warm water in stir vigourously. The secert to sweet tea is adding your sugar to warm liquid to melt the sugar so it doesn't all all to the bottom. Next, add your tea, then, you can either fill the pitcher the rest of the way up with water and refridgerate or...put ice in it to fill it up and drink. But remember...if you drink it before the ice melts, it might be a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
So simple and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
Just like the tea my husband grew up with. I use 6 tea bags in an electric 3qt. tea maker, I use half splenda and half sugar. I also melt the sugar/splenda in hot water before adding to the tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janine
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I could drink this all day, (and sometimes do!) I have been making tea this way for many, many years. Two cups of sugar is the exact amout you should use, but I understand that that can be a bit sweet for some people. The only thing I do differently than this recipe is that I use 4 tea bags, I like mine a litle darker and stronger. Also, you can do this on the stove top, in the coffee maker, or in those automatic tea makers sold in most stores. That is the way I make mine now. Anyway you make it, it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
Tastes just like the one they serve at a local BBQ joint. Definitely reduce sugar to 1.5 cups (you may find that even then 1.5 cups is still too sweet!) I used a mixture of 3/4 cup splenda, 3/4 cup sugar and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Wow!! This could not be any easier. I just love southern sweet tea. I have only had it in South Carolina. I just got back from a trip and figured that Allrecipes would have a recipe. Sure enough they did. This is EXACTLY like what I had in S.C. I made it as directed and loved it. My husband liked it a lot but wanted to try a batch with a little less sugar. I just made a batch with 1.5 c sugar and it is also good. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
I have been making sweet tea on the stovetop for years, and then came across this recipe. I tried it, and love it! I put the sugar in the pitcher right before I add the first batch of hot tea to it so that way the sugar disolves completely. I also use regular tea bags because that is all they sell in bulk at the wholesale club - so I use 10 regular size tea bags, which equals to 3 family size tea bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I would give this five stars except that for my personal taste 2 cups of sugar is way too sweet..(and I really like sweet tea)...I use 1 1/2 cups of sugar and that is about right for my families taste. I also use 4 Family sized Tea bags because we have always used 4 per gallon. I put the sugar in the carafe and when the tea brews and comes out hot it melts the sugar. Just a quick stir and the sugar is melted so no gritty unmelted sugar taste. I then rinse the pot out so that I am not pouring sugar inside my coffee maker. Then I refill the pot and run it through again to make 1 gallon. Works great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Simple and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
how many cups in coffemaker? 12 cups?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Dannon Oikos Sweet Summer Smoothie

Fruit blended with creamy yogurt and cold milk makes a refreshing summer snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States