South Carolina Sweet Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Brilliant! I recently had a sweet tea at the spa that had a hint of coffee flavor to it. I loved it :) it never occurred to me that you could use a coffee maker for tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Ain't nothing finer than sweet tea in Carolina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Whoa Nellie! Making sweet tea in an electric coffee maker just aint raiht. For one, it'll taste like coffee. What you need is 8 individual Lipton or Tetley orange pekoe/black teabags. Boil water in a 2 qt pot, and then put the teabags in the pot to steep for about 15 mins. Then put 1 1/2 cup sugar in a gallon pitcher (not a glass one), remove the teabags from the pot, and pour the tea into the pitcher, and stir until the sugar melts. Add a cup of ice, let it it melt, and then fill the rest of the pitcher with cold water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Enallage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This is the best tea! Restaurant style! I used 3 pots full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I never knew how easy it could be to brew tea in a coffee maker. Our favorite is raspberry it always turns out fantastic, you do have to adjust the amount of sugar depending on the flavor of tea 1 1/2 cups we found is perfect for the raspberry. My kids have a blast taking turns picking out flavors. We've made Blueberry, Black Berry, Black Currant, Apple Cinnamon, and next we're trying peach. My husband the Coca-Cola addict who would drink 3-5 cans a day has cut down his soda comsumption to 1 a day if that thanks to this recipe. With the 5 of us we usually have to make a gallon every other day. I disagree with the review below me. My tea has no bitterness at all but I clean my coffee maker including the filter portion so there is no residual anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I am a lifelong resident of SC, and I agree with cristiesc: you can't make tea in a coffeemaker without it having a slightly bitter taste (from the coffee residue) unless you devote your coffeemaker ENTIRELY to making tea. I make sweet tea EVERY DAY (it IS the tablewine of the South, y'all know!) and all I do is boil water in the microwave and then put the teabags in and let them "steep" (sit) for about ten minutes. Then I add sweetener (usually Splenda) and water. Super simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This is recipe is easy and is the best sweet tea I've had since I left Georgia. I can't keep enough around the house and is much cheaper than buying it at the store. Thank You Very Much! Squidmom, FL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Finally! I am a sweet tea expert! Thanks so very much for sharing this recipe. I actually tried 1/2 Splenda and 1/2 sugar. I've lived in the South for 16 years, and I've learned the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coudersport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
The best tea my family has ever had. Will make 100s of times before I die.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Wow! This is the best, just like one of the fairly expensive (bottled) store bought ice teas we often buy. We've been experimenting w/ iced tea for awhile and I just couldn't get it right..who knew that the BEST ICED TEA around was so easy to make. We drink lots of tea, so we will definitely be making tea according to this recipe a-lot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Dannon Oikos Sweet Summer Smoothie

Fruit blended with creamy yogurt and cold milk makes a refreshing summer snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States