South Carolina Sweet Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I was born and raised in SC, and if I made tea like this my mother would have tanned my hide. There are a few things wrong with this - One not people use an electric coffee make for tea only....if you use your coffee make for coffee too, it is going to leave a funny taste in your tea. Also You never specified what kind of tea to buy...that is important, I'vew had people come up and ask me all the time. I make teas the following way: 7 regular sized Orange Pekoe Tea Bags (orange peko is the type of tea leaf, its generally what is used in Lipton and your other brands...but double check. It doesn't taste like oranges either. 1 1/2 Cups of Sugar for a 1 gallon pitcher. Put tea bags in small pot and put on stove with about 3 cups of water...give or take. You want the tea bags covered, so the bigger the pot, the more water you have to use. Bring tea to a boil and let it roll for 2-3 minutes. Turn tea off. let tea sit in pot for 10-15 minutes. While this is happeneing, fill you pitcher up half way with WARM water. Hot is good too, but it takes longer to cool off. Put sugar in warm water in stir vigourously. The secert to sweet tea is adding your sugar to warm liquid to melt the sugar so it doesn't all all to the bottom. Next, add your tea, then, you can either fill the pitcher the rest of the way up with water and refridgerate or...put ice in it to fill it up and drink. But remember...if you drink it before the ice melts, it might be a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2001
the best way to make tea.............
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
I have been making sweet tea on the stovetop for years, and then came across this recipe. I tried it, and love it! I put the sugar in the pitcher right before I add the first batch of hot tea to it so that way the sugar disolves completely. I also use regular tea bags because that is all they sell in bulk at the wholesale club - so I use 10 regular size tea bags, which equals to 3 family size tea bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
This recipe is as close as I have come to the sweet tea I love in certain restaurants. I make it often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
I love this!! Tastes just like the restaurant ones and I will make it this way from now on! Thanks, Deanna!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
Wow I didn't realize making great iced tea could be this easy! Now I can make it often. I will probably cut down on the sugar though, although it did taste wonderfully sweet! Thanks Deanna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
I have been looking for a sweet tea recipe that resembles the tea that is served in kentucky. This is as close as I've come. I liked this tea! Good Job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Whoa Nellie! Making sweet tea in an electric coffee maker just aint raiht. For one, it'll taste like coffee. What you need is 8 individual Lipton or Tetley orange pekoe/black teabags. Boil water in a 2 qt pot, and then put the teabags in the pot to steep for about 15 mins. Then put 1 1/2 cup sugar in a gallon pitcher (not a glass one), remove the teabags from the pot, and pour the tea into the pitcher, and stir until the sugar melts. Add a cup of ice, let it it melt, and then fill the rest of the pitcher with cold water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Enallage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
I have been trying to make sweet tea that tastes like my Granny's did for years without success, until now. I use all the sugar for myself, but cut it down for my northern friends. I am going to buy a coffee maker to dedicate to tea, because even though I thought I had cleaned the coffee maker well, I still had a faint coffee background flavor in the first batch. Thanks Deanna. I make a couple of gallons a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
Wow! What a great recipe. It was so easy! I wanted a recipe that tastes like my GrandMother's, except not quite as sweet. I only used 1 cup of sugar and it was perfect! I'll add the 2 cups when my GrandMother visits. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sylvania, Georgia, USA
Living In: Newington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Dannon Oikos Sweet Summer Smoothie

Fruit blended with creamy yogurt and cold milk makes a refreshing summer snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States