South Carolina She-Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I just made this soup tonight for the first time. I have to say that this is THE BEST soup that I've ever made and eaten. I did however make several additions to the soup to kick it up a notch. Instead of 5 tablespoons of butter & flour I added 8 tablespoons, I used fish stock instead of the chicken broth (HIGHLY recommend), didn't use the hot pepper sauce, used 1.5 pounds of crabmeat, and added a VAST amount of Old Bay, salt, & pepper for flavor. This recipe, along with my additions, is well worth the money you will spend to make this soup. Hands down the best soup I've ever eaten & I will definitely make this again. It takes me back to the she-crab soup that I enjoyed at The Salty Dog in Hilton Head, SC. I HIGHLY suggest this recipe & use the additions that I did. You will not be disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pander07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Love this recipe since I am missing the she-crab soup from my fav restaurants in Virginia Beach, tastes just like them! I always add old bay though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usafwife16

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I made a half portion which is plenty (with leftovers) for 2. I added more sherry and salt than the recipe calls for. And I didn't grate the onion and celery. I like the texture that dicing the veg brings to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Nice recipe. It should be labeled as Crab bisques as there is not "She Crab" in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I picked up 2 live crabs along with all the rest of the ingredients and was serving this along with Shrimp Creole for a Fat Tuesday celebration. I took the shrimp shells, left over onion after grating it, piece of celery, water and cooked the crabs resulting in a nice seafood broth which I used instead of chicken stock. The crabs turned out to be girls so I took their eggs, mashed them up and added them to the soup for more flavor and saved a pinch to serve on top as a garnish. RAVE reviews from my dinner guests. Will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
Boy I gurontee this is sum good Im from Ladson South Carolina I have had sum good crab soup but this one is great wouldnt change a thing except for my hot sauce yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I really liked this recipe. Just what I was looking for. Used Old Bay, added some fresh squeezed lemon, and it was perfect for New Years Eve dinner. Will use this recipe again, and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
It was okay. It would have been better without the celery though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I live in Virginia and they serve a She-Crab soup here in the restraunts and this recipe is very close to the ones I have had, but I did add the old bay seasoning and served it with buttered french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisascooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
This was very good, but I felt it needed more seasonings. I added Old Bay, black pepper and paprika right in the roux. A bit of sherry gave it a nice flavor too. All in all, a very nice recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States