South Carolina She-Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2004
This recipe is a perfect tribute to lowcountry fare at its very best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
This was very good. High altitude users reduce liquid by 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Very good but we thought it was bland as written. Ended up adding in Old Bay seasoning and that really helped. The whole family enjoyed. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
This was very good, but I felt it needed more seasonings. I added Old Bay, black pepper and paprika right in the roux. A bit of sherry gave it a nice flavor too. All in all, a very nice recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I live in Virginia and they serve a She-Crab soup here in the restraunts and this recipe is very close to the ones I have had, but I did add the old bay seasoning and served it with buttered french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisascooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
It was okay. It would have been better without the celery though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I really liked this recipe. Just what I was looking for. Used Old Bay, added some fresh squeezed lemon, and it was perfect for New Years Eve dinner. Will use this recipe again, and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
Boy I gurontee this is sum good Im from Ladson South Carolina I have had sum good crab soup but this one is great wouldnt change a thing except for my hot sauce yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I picked up 2 live crabs along with all the rest of the ingredients and was serving this along with Shrimp Creole for a Fat Tuesday celebration. I took the shrimp shells, left over onion after grating it, piece of celery, water and cooked the crabs resulting in a nice seafood broth which I used instead of chicken stock. The crabs turned out to be girls so I took their eggs, mashed them up and added them to the soup for more flavor and saved a pinch to serve on top as a garnish. RAVE reviews from my dinner guests. Will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Nice recipe. It should be labeled as Crab bisques as there is not "She Crab" in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States