South Carolina She-Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
We always grab us a bowl of She-Crab soup when we visit the Myrtle and Surfside Beach area each year. This is the first time I tried to make some homemade. It turned out GREAT! I thought I was back at the beach!!! My wife said it was just like Mr. Fish's She-Crab soup. I made my own seafood broth instead of chicken. Couldn't find but crab legs here in Eastern Ky but it turned out good. I also used dried dill instead of fresh. Be sure to let it cook down as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Good recipe. I added Old Bay at the end because I felt it needed a bit extra spice but it was fine without too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
It was great with Pander07's modifications and a few of my own. I hate to say it but my version was much better than some of the stuff I was served in Charleston.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lai'Anna Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This was just ok for me. Even though I added a lot of Old Bay I still found this to be very bland. Probably will not make again since I do not think it is worth the price of the crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATRANTER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This was a good base, but really it was bland without adding some of my own seasoning. I added Old Bay and some garlic salt. I cut down on the half and half (used 2% milk instead and some extra chicken broth. I used 3 cans of canned crab which I drained the crab juice into the soup. I was great with a little alteration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This turned out soooo excellent! Though I ended up using "fake" crab as I just could not get my hands on any she-crab, it turned out really good. Nearly as good as the one served to me in South Carolina a couple of years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Meklenschek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
The directions were simple to follow. My she crab soup came out great! Recommendation: Use real crab meat. Imitation is ok, but the real thing is so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This is a good recipe, but could cut the milk in half or add more crab. She crab is delicious as a thick stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KTrav
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Oh my gosh! EXCELLENT soup with wonderful flavor. I thought it had better flavor and consistency than any I've had in restaurants. I used Red Rock Crab which seemed perfect for this recipe. The only think I changed was I added about a Tablespoon of Paprika. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTrav

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I just made this soup tonight for the first time. I have to say that this is THE BEST soup that I've ever made and eaten. I did however make several additions to the soup to kick it up a notch. Instead of 5 tablespoons of butter & flour I added 8 tablespoons, I used fish stock instead of the chicken broth (HIGHLY recommend), didn't use the hot pepper sauce, used 1.5 pounds of crabmeat, and added a VAST amount of Old Bay, salt, & pepper for flavor. This recipe, along with my additions, is well worth the money you will spend to make this soup. Hands down the best soup I've ever eaten & I will definitely make this again. It takes me back to the she-crab soup that I enjoyed at The Salty Dog in Hilton Head, SC. I HIGHLY suggest this recipe & use the additions that I did. You will not be disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pander07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States