South Carolina She-Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Really great recipe we did modify it some based on other reviews. We substituted Seafood Stock for the Chicken Broth and added 1 Tablespoon of Old Bay. We also increased the crab to 2 pounds (we like a lot of crab!) It tasted just like the soup we get at our favorite restaurant in Virginia Beach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrdave363

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I used a little less half and half and a little less heavy cream. It turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
We always grab us a bowl of She-Crab soup when we visit the Myrtle and Surfside Beach area each year. This is the first time I tried to make some homemade. It turned out GREAT! I thought I was back at the beach!!! My wife said it was just like Mr. Fish's She-Crab soup. I made my own seafood broth instead of chicken. Couldn't find but crab legs here in Eastern Ky but it turned out good. I also used dried dill instead of fresh. Be sure to let it cook down as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Good recipe. I added Old Bay at the end because I felt it needed a bit extra spice but it was fine without too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
It was great with Pander07's modifications and a few of my own. I hate to say it but my version was much better than some of the stuff I was served in Charleston.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lai'Anna Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This was just ok for me. Even though I added a lot of Old Bay I still found this to be very bland. Probably will not make again since I do not think it is worth the price of the crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATRANTER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This was a good base, but really it was bland without adding some of my own seasoning. I added Old Bay and some garlic salt. I cut down on the half and half (used 2% milk instead and some extra chicken broth. I used 3 cans of canned crab which I drained the crab juice into the soup. I was great with a little alteration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This turned out soooo excellent! Though I ended up using "fake" crab as I just could not get my hands on any she-crab, it turned out really good. Nearly as good as the one served to me in South Carolina a couple of years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Meklenschek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
The directions were simple to follow. My she crab soup came out great! Recommendation: Use real crab meat. Imitation is ok, but the real thing is so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This is a good recipe, but could cut the milk in half or add more crab. She crab is delicious as a thick stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States