South Carolina She-Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Wonderful, easy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Very good base of soup, it just would have been bland if I did not add a lot of old bay, lemon juice, more salt and pepper, a splash more of sherry, and changed it to seafood stock instead of chicken. I also did 2 lbs of lump crab meat and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Markie McMinn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Way to much half & half. Lacked the orange color, less flavor than any dish I've had to date. Even used fresh crab roe. Was so looking forward to this as being a hit. It wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommy Granados

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Simply divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Baker Dodson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Good, but I agree that it needed more seasonings. This recipe calls for ALOT of cream and that might have something to do with it. I added extra sherry, and it came out ok but not exactly how I expected. I couldn't give it any color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This recipe was great! I did make some adjustments based on previous reviews. I added a TON of old bay and a few extra tbs of hot sauce. Extra salt and pepper and skipped the sherry (didn't have any) we had 8 people over and every one had 2-3 bowls of it and still had left overs! It was so tasty! Even the Navy chef we had over loved it :) definitely recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Authentic, authentic, authentic. This soup is awesome! I didn't have any sherry, so I used sweet vermouth instead, but followed the recipe to a tee otherwise. It tasted so good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Nolletti Pierro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This soup might be that traditional Christmas Eve dinner. Easy to make and very delicious. I added canned roasted diced tomatoes and roasted corn fresh off the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I used Canned Crab, never again as it had little bits of shell in the soup. but the flavor was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Really great recipe we did modify it some based on other reviews. We substituted Seafood Stock for the Chicken Broth and added 1 Tablespoon of Old Bay. We also increased the crab to 2 pounds (we like a lot of crab!) It tasted just like the soup we get at our favorite restaurant in Virginia Beach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrdave363

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States