South African Yellow Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
This dish was really sweet and I only used 2/3 of the sugar. I also served it with Bobotie which was also quite sweet so the combination was overpowering. Maybe it should have been 3 teaspoons instead of 3 tablespoons. Otherwise it was quite good with a lovely aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Super Delicious! So glad I tried this recipe! I used Sucanat instead of sugar, in the same qty listed. I also used some vegetable broth for some of the water and added a handful of cashew nuts. Yum! This will be on our table again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salihah
Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Very good and easy. I just threw all of the ingredients into the rice cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I made this with a north African chicken dish, and it was good. After reading some other reviewers' comments that they found it somewhat sweet, I made 1 serving ahead of time, and based on that, decided to use only about a quarter of the amount of sugar called for. I also soaked the raisins for about an hour to plump them up a bit. Served the meal with a South African white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I must admit I was a bit nervous about the raisins in rice but it was so delicious. I used brown sugar in place of white sugar and served it with African Curry Chicken. My kids thought it looked gross but was pleasantly surprised and couldn't get enough of it. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This was very good. My only complaint is that I don't think the turmeric dissolved well and some bites were a bit chalky. This might of been my fault, since I like my rice dry and only used 1.75 cups of water. It might of dissolved better in more water as the original recipe called for. Next time I will stir the spices in the water vigorously before adding the rice. My other changes was that I used only one tablespoon of sugar. Combined with the raisins, it gave the dish a hint of sweetness without being overally sugary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I made in in the rice cooker, as a previous poster did. It turned out wonderful. This was delicious! This recipe is going into our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This recipe was good, but the spices took from the rice its self.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan_Saffel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This was a cool rice recipe, definitely different than the usual side of rice ;) I followed other reviewers' tips and cut the sugar in half. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I recently attended a dinner party at a colleague's house. He is from South Africa and made this dish and was excellent. Compared to his version, this was a bit sweeter, but pretty close. It was great mixed with the Bobotie from this site, as well. I did sub craisins, as I don't like raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States