South African Yellow Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Lovely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Followed this recipe to the letter and the color was nothing like the picture and flavor, thanks but no thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Way too sweet. There was just a little too much of everything really. If I were to try it again (which is doubtful), I would skip the sugar and omit (or at least seriously decrease) the cinnamon. My husband and I each had a small portion. It tasted like dessert. I might like it better with ice cream...really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Like many said the sugar can use a tone-down, but the basic recipe is very good and the color of the rice adds an additional interest to your entire menu. I liked the flavor, sort of tropical, good with entrees that have a fruit component, or if you wanted that contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
The only thing I didn't add were the raisins. Turned out delicious! Definately a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This is a wonderful rice. Everyone in my family enjoyed it. A great alternative to mundane, plain rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I was skeptical but being we were celebrating Fluorescent Yellow Food Day and I dislike most yellow foods like bananas and eggs I went ahead and tried it. My family really enjoyed this rice. Since my guy will not eat raisens, I soaked them in hot water seperately and stirred them into individual portions on our plates. We made mustard wings for more yellow food and had yellow cake for dessert. It was a lot of fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I recently attended a dinner party at a colleague's house. He is from South Africa and made this dish and was excellent. Compared to his version, this was a bit sweeter, but pretty close. It was great mixed with the Bobotie from this site, as well. I did sub craisins, as I don't like raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
A good side dish to bobotie. It is pretty sweet, so depending on who you're cooking for I would adjust the sugar. I've made it both ways (sugar as written & sugar decreased) and it's delicious. It's not an amazing-wow dish, but it's a nice compliment to bobtie. I also made a cumin-date sauce to go with it. So all and all, a pretty good geelrys recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I enjoyed this recipe. It was very easy to cook. I used Splenda and reduced the sugar. With the raisins it was more than sweet enough. Very good, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States