South African Melktert (Milk Tart) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I have not made this- very silly question: As it is, does that mean it inlcudes the crust or-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Pre-bake the crust for about 10-12 minutes. Try to make the filling as follows: 1. Bring half the milk and butter to the boil 2. Cream the sugar, egg yolks maizena (half flour & half maizena), salt and vanilla with the rest of the milk. Ommit the baking powder. 3 Add some of the hot milk to the creamed mixture, then put it back into the pot and heat gently until it thickens 4. Do NOT boil 5. Fold in the egg whites and pour the filling into the pie crust. Sprinkle the cinnamon sugar on top and.... 6. Bake for 20-25 minutes in a 180C oven. It is much easier to make it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Very good! It is hard the first time you make it as you will be confused about mixing the milk with the dough, and it will have lumps that sink to the bottom no matter how long you beat it. the lumps form the bottom crust and the whipped egg whites form the top crust. This reminds me of a recipe called "Impossible Pie". Very tasty and a great way to use up milk. (got 3 milk cows)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Siletz, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fruitland Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
LEKKER JONG!!!!!This is the real deal!!!!! This comes from a full blooded South African
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
One can also substitute the flour for cornflour (Maizena) - I make the batter first : ie: beat the flour, sugar, eggs - I do not whisk the egg whites - no need - The milk needs to be warmed prior to the batter being mixed in - this mixture needs to be "tendered" on a steady even heat - lastly adding the butter (not melted before) and vanilla essence! The pastry needs to be baked prior to adding the tart mixture. !! Sprinkle nutmegg on warm filling - let stand at room temperature before chilling prior to serving with a "dollop" of fresh cream !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
This tasted too much like flan to me. I don't like flan. I was looking to use up some milk that's why I used this recipe. I didn't have cake flour so I did use all purpose flour. I don't think it had much if any effect. Ingredients should be added in a different order too. Either that, or milk should be warmed before adding to mixture because I had problems with the butter (batter) clumping. In the end, if you like flan, you might like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Very good. I made this as a dessert accompaniment to the Moroccan Tagine recipe on this site, and it was a nice balance to the spiciness of the Tagine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I prepared this for an International Dinner held by my church. It was a sensation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
Wonderful. I received rave reviews when I made this for a few friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Very very tasty milk tart and I loved that there was no crust. Sometimes the taste of the milk tart is drowned out by a heavy base. This mixture forms it's own 'crust'. Also very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States