South African Melktert (Milk Tart) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Wonderful! Baie Lekker! My mother and every women in our family, come to think of it, all made Melktert. Each one had a "secret ingredient" which I loved trying to find out what it was. Quite honestly, out of all the family Melkterts I consumed, they all tasted the same. Except for My Auntie Flo, I caught her sneaking in a squeeze of lemon. I can honestly say, hers had a "tiny zing or refreshing" taste, but not by much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Isabella Gheza
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I first found this recipe because of a project I was doing on Africa, so I decided to make three for my class to share. On the day of the presentation, everyone had a slice and it seemed that everyone loved it! Although the milk and batter do kind of separate during the process, it seems that it always works itself out during the baking process. This is a great recipe that always surprises you by how great it really is. Also, I would like to mention that adding extra cinnamon sugar makes it especially good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isabella Gheza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Made this last night for my South African family in the USA. The vote was unanimous, this was how Ouma's melktert used to taste! One note: The cooking process was puzzling and I almost tossed the batter thinking that I must surely have done something wrong. My sister convinced me to bake it. My suggestion, just ignore all the adjectives (our Oumas probably didn't use them either) and keep adding ingredients as instructed. Thank you for sharing this family recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Worst recipe ever! DO NOT USE THIS! The ingredients are enough for two milkterts...comes out very soup and doest set at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Light flavor, not too decadent. Good for a light dessert. Warning- the freezer dries it out so try avoid freezing this dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelBaker

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
WOW!! This ia a great pastry!! Just baked last night and I was surprise how well it turned out. I like this baking method alot better and did not feel the need to add anything else to this pastry. It is great served both hot and cold, but I prefer it better when it is hot!! This will be my go to recipe when I make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Very very tasty milk tart and I loved that there was no crust. Sometimes the taste of the milk tart is drowned out by a heavy base. This mixture forms it's own 'crust'. Also very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
......Coat a 9 inch deep dish pie plate........ I guess that is 9 inch diameter? or is my knowledge deficient and the "deep dish pie plate" refers to the type? Apologies if that is the case
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Lekker! Just like my ouma made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Followed the recipe closely and the milk tart ended up runny. Taste was good, but did not set properly. Too much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States