Sourdough Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
My daughter said she wanted to eat the whole loaf! This made a delicious, crusty loaf. With that said, however, I would not recommend this for a novice bread baker. I have seen some comments about the consistency of the dough. How much water you need will depend on a few factors: how much moisture is in the flour, the humidity in the air, how hydrated your starter is, etc. You need to be able to judge these, and adjust accordingly. Also keep in mind that starter-raised loaves rise much more slowly. So if you want it more quickly, you will have to add more commercial yeast to the mix. I used the dough setting on my bread machine, and after it was mixed, I let the dough rise in the pan for about 30-40 minutes. Then, I used the bake setting on the machine to finish the bread. ( My whole wheat cycle was not long enough) If you baby this bread a little bit, you will be rewarded with a crusty, light and tasty loaf! Thanks for sharing, Mari!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Arbutus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I did not readily find the sourdough flavor was as strong as I wished it would have been. There is not very much whole wheat in the recipe. The bread is not a very firm bread either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
My bread machine has been broken so I handmade this. I mixed everything as I would for my bread machine. Except I only used 1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour and 2 1/4 cup whole wheat flour. I wanted a mostly wheat bread. I had to heat up 1/2 cup whole milk and add it in slowly. Baked it at 350 degrees for 35 minutes. It turned out great. It tastes mostly like wheat bread not really like sourdough at all. But it still made a great bread, nice and fluffy. Next time I am going to try making all 3 3/4 cups whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I did have to add quite a bit more water, but once the dough attained the right consistency (depends on the hydration of your starter- mine is thick) this bread came out PERFECT! Nice texture, neither too dense or light, and a flavor to die for. I did have to bake in the oven (350 for 35 min) as the whole wheat setting on my bread machine decided not to work, so I selected dough cycle, then removed and punched down slightly. Added to bread pan and let rise until doubled. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I'm working my way through all the bread machine recipes on this site and this is beyond the worst. It only cooked on the bottom, the middle was gummy and the top was dough. I'm trying to finish it up in the oven and save this mess. Tweaking may help it, but I will never try this recipe again to find out...not when there are several recipes turned out very nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Burns Boiled Water

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
For some reason there wasn't enough moisture in the dough when it was mixing in the bread machine. It was crumbly and wouldn't form into a ball. I had to add about 1/2 cup of milk to make the right consistancy. Maybe my starter was thicker than usual. The dough seemed really heavy at first but when it rises, it is much lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Wasn't very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by classicmustangchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
Recipe is much larger than 1.5 lbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Hill, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
Tried it 3 times, failed it 3 times. Makes a very heavy bread that is uncooked in the middle. Taste was quite good, though, but you gotta like heavy mid-uncooked bread to like this one... Somebody can help me (I've already tried to add a bit more water to make the bread rise higher, but it didn't help!)?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2001
I used a sourdough starter made with whole wheat flour-no white flour and followed the rest of Mari's recipe; it was just great! Sincerely Dorothy Gamouras
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States