Sourdough Tomato Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This bread makes fabulous grilled cheese! I left out the yeast and used a little extra starter and had no problems. I wish I could give 6 stars =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Very good! I used 1 cup of whole wheat flour in this to replace some of the all purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Fabulous bread! I used whole wheat flour and salsa instead of tomato juice. It was absolutely wonderful and the salsa added a lot of neat texture and color bits. The bread was nice and crusty and very moist on the inside. Not a true "sourdough" bread because of the yeast, but a great bread none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLOWSCHNELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Living In: New Sarepta, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2002
We loved this bread! However, I would like to be able to make it with soymilk instead of V-8, but my attempt to substitute directly flopped. Any suggestions? Also, would it be possible to modify the recipe somehow to skip the commercial yeast and make it with just the starter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
This bread is SUPER!!! I've made it several times, and it always comes out great. I use V-8 juice, as suggested, and add 1/2 cup chopped sundried tomatoes, 3 or 4 minced cloves of garlic, and 1 1/2 tsp dried basil. YUM!! I have a friend who begs me for a loaf of this every week. Thanks for a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
I just loooove the crust on this bread (see photo). Next time I am going to make them smaller to use as soup bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
This bread surprised me. I was expecting that I wouldn't like it because I hate V-8 juice. It's got an amazing chewy crunchy crust with a mild soft inner bread..it is fabulous. Next time, I'm going to try it with some cheese and herbs mixed in. I make bread several times a week and this one has jumped up near the top of my favorite list. Absolutely love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This was a fantastic bread! My starter isn't very strong so it didn't really taste very "sourdoughy" but I added 1 tsp of dried minced onion (next time I'll add 1 Tbsp), some italian seasoning and sundried tomatoes (don't forget to blanch in boiling water first if using dried) and it turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This was tasty bread. I halved the recipe, used a little less than half whole wheat flour and I used bread flour for the rest. I also made this into sandwich rolls, which made for a nice sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I just took the loaves out of the oven and of course had to have a slice of it right away. It has a nice tang from the sourdough with a hint of tomato taste. I used my homemade "V-8" juice and added some Italian seasoning. I can hardly wait to try it in sandwiches. Another recipe,to add to my sourdough collection! Update: I make this every week to sell at farmers market. I sell every loaf each week. Every one who has bought it loves it! I do use my homemade spaghetti sauce that I can from my own tomatoes every year. T
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyGS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States