Sourdough Tomato Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Wow, very nice right out of the oven with butter. I served with beef stew and it was perfect. I did get 3 rather large boules out of this recipe so it could be cut in half and would be just right, at least for us. As the previous reviewer said, I may add a bit more salt next time, and there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Overall an okay bread...bland though, even with italian seasoning, onion powder, chopped onion, garlic powder added. definitely needs more salt...doubtful i would make again...sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riblet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Don't try this as written in a standard bread machine! It was too much flour and didn't mix properly. I took it out and tried to do it by hand (I've never made bread by hand before ....). It's now allegedly rising, so we'll see what happens! I'm giving it 5 stars because it seems like a good bread according to other reviews. I think sadlt that I've just messed it up with my experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
We loved the bread, and it was easy to make, but I didn't like the crust at all, and I didn't over bake it. I'm going to make it again once more. The flavor of the bread though was wonderful and perfect amount of tomato flavor. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I just took the loaves out of the oven and of course had to have a slice of it right away. It has a nice tang from the sourdough with a hint of tomato taste. I used my homemade "V-8" juice and added some Italian seasoning. I can hardly wait to try it in sandwiches. Another recipe,to add to my sourdough collection! Update: I make this every week to sell at farmers market. I sell every loaf each week. Every one who has bought it loves it! I do use my homemade spaghetti sauce that I can from my own tomatoes every year. T
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyGS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Very good! I used 1 cup of whole wheat flour in this to replace some of the all purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This was tasty bread. I halved the recipe, used a little less than half whole wheat flour and I used bread flour for the rest. I also made this into sandwich rolls, which made for a nice sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This was missing something for me - it sounded great, and after reading some reviews, I added some rosemary and garlic, but it was still very bland. I guess I was expecting more "zip", but we all we a little underwhelmed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GATORBEK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOMBYRD
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I needed to use up some of my starter, so I made this recipe twice today. Once with All Purpose flour and once with Bread Flour. The texture of the loaf with the bread flour was much better. It definately needs some other flavor. I will try it again using the sundried tomatoes and herbs next time. Also, instead of kneading it by hand I did it in my mixer with a dough hook. Overall I think it's a great recipe with a really good crumb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This bread makes fabulous grilled cheese! I left out the yeast and used a little extra starter and had no problems. I wish I could give 6 stars =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States