Sourdough Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
OMG!!! I have NEVER thought I could make sourdough starter!!! I loved the bread I made out of this starter. Only problem is since I don't make bread too much, the starter gets in the way and gets dumped. Will definitely be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I rated this five stars, but it was my first sourdough starter, so I really have nothing to compare it to. I like the way my bread turned out, but it tasted more like plain white bread and less like sourdough--I'm not sure if that's because I only had my starter for two weeks when I made the bread, or if the starter isn't very good. Next time I do it I'll wait longer and see what happens. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris(py)
Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I started my starter based on Esther's recipe, 5 days ago. It didn't say to feed it so I didn't know. Saw others say they feed their every day, either 1/4 cup, or 1/3 cup. Somebody help me. What is feeding Do I remove any of the starter when feeding If I keep adding 1/4 cup it will outgrow my house Thanks anyone that knows, please post, I read everyday
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I made this yesterday, followed the instructions completely, and it was a soupy mess by the next day. The liquid had separated from the flour and it had a horrible odor. I think the instructions could do a better job explaining how to feed it, and how to store it, and what its supposed to look like each day and as time goes on. I just made a new batch today, and the mixture is ALREADY bubbly. These instructions say 4-8 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariah10Carey88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Jamesburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This is the first time I have ever made a starter. It was ready in two days! I couldn't believe it. I let it age more in the refrigerator and just made my first loaves of bread. They were so good! I took the advice of someone who posted and fed with a little bit of sugar every couple of days. I can't wait until it ages more and I make bread again. Thanks for the recipe. It was so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
The instructions were somewhat incomplete for sourdough newbs like myself (feeding and taking care of the starter) but the bread I made was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I had not done a starter before and did a lot of reading through several recipes and reviews. This one seemed to be the best one. I did add in a tsp. of agave sweetner each morning and evening when I fed the start a 1/4 cup flour and 1/4 cup warm water. My son enjoyed watching this process and the whole family has enjoyed eating the bread from this starter ever since. I use the San Francisco bread recipe to make this bread. I even made a whole wheat version and it came out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Wow! This was my first attempt at any kind of bread starter. I started it on Sunday, left out on kitchen counter in glass bowl with loose lid. Fed 1/4 water and 1/4 flour daily. Made San Fran sourdough from this site on Saturday. Super easy and very delish. I wasn't sure how to replace what I took from the starter so I just put equal amounts of flour/water of what I took from the starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I tried my first loaf of sourdough bread about 2 weeks after making my starter. The bread is delicious (the San Francisco Sourdough recipe on this website) but it is not nearly as sour as I expected. Also, I am so glad that others posted comments about feeding your starter beforehand. I never would have known to do so otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Started on Sunday, made rolls on Wed. that were fabulous - looking forward to it aging. Am feeding it 1/4 cup flour and 1/4 cup water each day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewsteadECS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States