Sourdough Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I was nervous about letting something sit around in my kitchen and ferment. I am at a high altitude (about 6200ft). I was even more nervous when it smelled strong and looked strange after about 5 days of sitting out. (The clear liquid had separated and was sitting on top making it look unappetizing. I stirred it up and it looked normal, so I decided to go ahead and stick it in the fridge. Well, today, I finally used it in the Plain and Simple Sourdough Bread recipe from this website. The bread turned out AWESOME. Some of my most favorite ever produced by my bread maker yet! I have decided to keep up my starter so that I can make more yummy bread! I may try some with my mixer next...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I had excelent results with this starter. I was a little worried, this being my first time makeing a sourdough starter, but the outcome has been wonderfull. The only reason im giveing a 4 star is because there was no mention of "feeding" in the directions. I took other reviewers comments and feed once a day 1/4c each of warm water and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantel Beinish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Put it in a large container/jar on a cookie sheet, because it explodes! This worked really well, even using whole wheat white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
OMG!!! I have NEVER thought I could make sourdough starter!!! I loved the bread I made out of this starter. Only problem is since I don't make bread too much, the starter gets in the way and gets dumped. Will definitely be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I rated this five stars, but it was my first sourdough starter, so I really have nothing to compare it to. I like the way my bread turned out, but it tasted more like plain white bread and less like sourdough--I'm not sure if that's because I only had my starter for two weeks when I made the bread, or if the starter isn't very good. Next time I do it I'll wait longer and see what happens. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris(py)
Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I started my starter based on Esther's recipe, 5 days ago. It didn't say to feed it so I didn't know. Saw others say they feed their every day, either 1/4 cup, or 1/3 cup. Somebody help me. What is feeding Do I remove any of the starter when feeding If I keep adding 1/4 cup it will outgrow my house Thanks anyone that knows, please post, I read everyday
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy McGuinness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I made this yesterday, followed the instructions completely, and it was a soupy mess by the next day. The liquid had separated from the flour and it had a horrible odor. I think the instructions could do a better job explaining how to feed it, and how to store it, and what its supposed to look like each day and as time goes on. I just made a new batch today, and the mixture is ALREADY bubbly. These instructions say 4-8 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariah10Carey88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Jamesburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This is the first time I have ever made a starter. It was ready in two days! I couldn't believe it. I let it age more in the refrigerator and just made my first loaves of bread. They were so good! I took the advice of someone who posted and fed with a little bit of sugar every couple of days. I can't wait until it ages more and I make bread again. Thanks for the recipe. It was so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
The instructions were somewhat incomplete for sourdough newbs like myself (feeding and taking care of the starter) but the bread I made was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I had not done a starter before and did a lot of reading through several recipes and reviews. This one seemed to be the best one. I did add in a tsp. of agave sweetner each morning and evening when I fed the start a 1/4 cup flour and 1/4 cup warm water. My son enjoyed watching this process and the whole family has enjoyed eating the bread from this starter ever since. I use the San Francisco bread recipe to make this bread. I even made a whole wheat version and it came out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States