Sourdough Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Very confused about the whole feeding thing...I started 2 seperat ones because I was so unsure that my first one was ok...it seems to be. I have been "feeding" everyday but not sure I am doing it right...will find out soon!!! I really wish the directions were a bit more precise...thanks though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prcutie71

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Pretty good starter recipe. It could have gone into more details about maintaining the starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I'm only giving three stars, because as most people have mentioned, it says nothing about how to feed it. I made mine yesterday, and today it has a crust on it...the top is hard. Is this normal????? I have NO CLUE. I don't know when to feed it or even how often to feed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gemma1288

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Very helpful, basic recipe. I feed it to keep it going.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Worked great, but you've got to feed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This was the first starter I've ever made, and it's fantastic! I let it sit out for about 8 days, then stuck it in the fridge for an additional 3 or 4 days before using. My sourdough bread turned out great, with a nice sour taste. Next time I'll let it age even longer for a stronger flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This worked out really well. The reason I'm giving 4 stars instead of 5 is that the directions were a bit confusing and seemed a little incomplete. But after reading up on sourdough starters I decided to try this one. It might not be a "true" sourdough, but that doesn't bother me - I just want to eat some bred. I fed my starter one cup of all-purpose flour and one cup of warm water (110 degrees F) once a day for four days. On day four I came home and it smelled like beer, which I took as a sign that it was fermented enough for it's first bake. After the first use, I fed the starter, whisked some air into it, then put the lid on my container and put it in the fridge. After a week I took it out again and it had that light brown liquid that it talks about in the recipe. I stirred it in, put 4 cups of the starter (I had a lot because I wanted some to share) in a fresh bowl, added 4 cups water and 4 cups flour (1 cup of flour was rye flour, because I hear that sourdough starters can really get going with a little rye flour added to it). I bubbled up just fine in a couple hours. One more feeding and it's ready for baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I was nervous about letting something sit around in my kitchen and ferment. I am at a high altitude (about 6200ft). I was even more nervous when it smelled strong and looked strange after about 5 days of sitting out. (The clear liquid had separated and was sitting on top making it look unappetizing. I stirred it up and it looked normal, so I decided to go ahead and stick it in the fridge. Well, today, I finally used it in the Plain and Simple Sourdough Bread recipe from this website. The bread turned out AWESOME. Some of my most favorite ever produced by my bread maker yet! I have decided to keep up my starter so that I can make more yummy bread! I may try some with my mixer next...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I had excelent results with this starter. I was a little worried, this being my first time makeing a sourdough starter, but the outcome has been wonderfull. The only reason im giveing a 4 star is because there was no mention of "feeding" in the directions. I took other reviewers comments and feed once a day 1/4c each of warm water and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantel Beinish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Put it in a large container/jar on a cookie sheet, because it explodes! This worked really well, even using whole wheat white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States