Sourdough Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Excellent all purpose starter! Just need to remember, it likes to be used. Try to use it at least every 2 weeks to keep it "active".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
works very good, I covered with a few layers of cheese cloth. Can't wait to share it with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I loved it. Very easy for me to make. Never had made before this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Wow was this easy, and great. I did add a teaspoon of sugar, my own touch. I was stunned by the amount of hooch that it produced and floated to the top. Just stirred it in and used as is. Great flavor, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Sourdough starter is so basic that a baby could almost get it right. But I rate this one 5 stars because Esther detailed the instructions so well that I could hardly go wrong. When it was ready, this was the best and easiest starter recipe I have ever used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Plains, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This is great. I use this with a super simple sourdough bread recipe that's just 1 1/2 cups of starter, 2 cups flour and 3/4 tsp salt. It's been great both as a traditional loaf and in the bread machine. I've had this starter going about a month now and it's starting to get a really nice sourness going, but even when it's not yet sour it still tastes really good in a simple dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Hill Afb, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
The first starter to ever work out for me--I didn't have any issues with discolored starter which thrilled me because it seems like every other starter I tried was an epic failure (one I made even exploded--I have no idea how I achieved that, but it was one really memorable experiance, I'll tell you). I cannot WAIT to use this with something. Thanks! NOTE: I waited almost a week for mine. It's purely up to you how long you wait, I just chose to wait longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I don't know what I did wrong but mine did not sour at all. I did exactly as the recipe states, plus I fed it everyday. It did get the brownish liquid on top and was bubbling like crazy. But it just never soured and I let it age for 8 days. It started thickening up too. I tried making the San Francisco Sour Dough bread with this starter hoping it would taste like sourdough bread. But, although the bread is very tasty, it tastes more like a white bread because the starter didn't sour. I think I will let it age some and see what happens. But if it doesn't sour at some point I will be tossing it in the garbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Tried this starter twice and did not work at all either time. The first time it "exploded" in about 2 hrs, then just seemed to die. The second time it turned to alcohol, and tasted terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Awesome, thanks. It was easy and it worked out great. I just turn on my oven to 400 degrees for a minute or two and shut off just to get the air warm and let it sit in there (just make sure your spot isn't too hot - like more than 95 or so - I killed a starter by doing that!) And watch out, it quadruples in size!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States