Sourdough Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
When I started making this I knew nothing about starters. After some supplemental research, I realized that not only did I have to continuously feed the starter but I had to discard half of the starter at each feeding. At first I kept feeding it and feeding it and it kept getting runnier and runnier, but I just thought it was due to my hot & humid Asian climate. There was definitely fermentation going on, but none of the bubbly froth that is supposed to happen. So I took 20 grams of the super-wet starter and added 50g of flour and 50g of warm water. I realized in the process that it is VERY important to measure by weight rather than volume. When I did this ratio, the starter became really thick but it started bubbling immediately and doubled in volume within a few hours (signs of a healthy starter!) In the end, rather than starting with 2 cups water/2 cups flour, I wish I would have started with much smaller volumes, because it doesn't need to be giant at first, and you can always grow it in size later, once the starter becomes stable and healthy. P.S. in hot & humid weather (I live in SE Asia) it should be fed 3x a day at first - morning, afternoon, and right before bed. The heat makes the yeast extra hungry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Great taste especially as it ages. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VH
Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I may be back to edit this review but for now I have to criticize it for not telling me to feed it daily once I start with 1/4 flour and warm water. It's been in my oven with the light on for 4 days. I figured there must be a problem since it was not rising. I opened the reviews and see that this step was missing. FEED IT...anyway I threw it out and started again. Hopefully I will have better results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I found a really useful explanation here that might help you get over day 3 that explains why the thing rises like crazy initially and then appears to go flat ... it suggests using acid and fancy flours and all sorts of daunting ingredients instead of flour and water but a purist would have you stick with the basics and a bit of patience. Give it a chance. Note that if you manage to bake using bacteria as the leavener instead of yeast you should end up with a very sour tasting loaf anyway. If the ratings on this recipe are any indication that's just fine for many people. I've failed at this many times though and I think part of my issue is mold... maybe it's time to clean the kitchen. http://www.thefreshloaf.com/node/233
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Thank you, Esther!!! My starter (named "Edna" after my grandmother) turned 1 year old this past November!!!!!!!!!!!! She has been quite forgiving of me as I have learned to care for her. I have made countless loaves of sourdough bread and a couple of rounds of sourdough cinnamon rolls!!!! This starter was easy to do and has staying power!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Rae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
this is a beautiful sourdough starter. works like a dream smells fantastic and makes a wonderful dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carla walton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
It took a couple months to really get this to taste like sourdough - but then it was AWESOME! I was living in Morocco at the time and was really sad to have to leave my starter when I moved back to the USA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeqJoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Had a bit of trouble with the first batch, but I think that was due to my "beginner" status when it comes to sourdough bread. Worked out really well the next time - will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This is a good basic sourdough starter. We have made 2 loaves from the starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This is a good starter, but the instructions are lacking. It fails to specify the fact that because your starter is a living thing, it needs to be fed on a regular basis with the frequency depending on how often the starter is used and whether or not it is refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States